Catherine est une entrepreneuse ghanéenne, fondatrice et PDG d’Eden Tree Ltd. Catherine a commencé sa carrière tant que banquière au bureau de la Saudi American Bank à Londres où elle a travaillé pendant dix ans. Elle retourne au Ghana en 1996 et a créé Eden Tree en 1997.

L’engagement de Catherine dans la promotion des femmes dans le monde des affaires et son travail fructueux avec Eden Tree ont été reconnus par plusieurs distinctions et prix, notamment le prix national 2012 du Charted Institute of Marketing au Ghana pour sa contribution exceptionnelle à la construction de la Nation, le prix de l’année pour l’entrepreneur en agribusiness du Ghana (« Ghana Agribusiness Entrepreneur Award of the Year ») en 2013 et 2015, le prix d’excellence féminin du Ghana (« Feminine Ghana Achievement Awards ») en 2016, le prix de l’entrepreneur le plus remarquable du secteur de l’agriculture (troisième prix d’excellence féminin du Ghana « Feminine Ghana Achievement Awards » 2017), un prix d’excellence à vie pour la promotion de l’agriculture urbaine au Ghana, ainsi que le prix TV Africa reconnaissant des femmes de valeur et de mérite de la société ghanéenne (« TV Africa Award in Recognition of Women of Substance and Distinction in Ghanaian Society »). Catherine a récemment reçu le prix d’excellence de Première Dame pour la Journée internationale de la femme 2019.

Catherine Krobo Edusei,

CEO, Eden Tree Ltd

Business Location: Lashibi, Ghana

Statut de la société : Société à responsabilité limitée
Date de création : 1997
Nombre d’employés : 66
Fondatrice : Catherine Krobo Edusei

 

Modèle d’entreprise

La devise d’Eden Tree est « Des gens en meilleure santé pour une meilleure nation », l’entreprise considèrant qu’une bonne alimentation est la clé d’une économie prospère et émergente. Pour promouvoir des habitudes alimentaires saines, Eden Tree met en relation les agriculteurs et les consommateurs en reliant les agriculteurs aux marchés. L’entreprise intègre également l’innovation et la protection de l’environnement dans son modèle d’entreprise, qui repose sur trois valeurs commerciales fondamentales:

  • la durabilité et le respect de toutes les parties prenantes de la chaîne de valeur, de l’environnement et des communautés qui fournissent la matière première,
  • de bonnes relations tout au long de la chaîne de valeur avec les partenaires commerciaux et la communauté,
  • la rentabilité pour soutenir la production et la famille.

Depuis 24 ans, Eden Tree est un acteur clé de l’agroalimentaire et distribue des herbes, fruits et légumes frais aux supermarchés et aux entreprises de restauration du Ghana.

Eden Tree applique un modèle d’entreprise intégré : l’entreprise produit, conditionne et commercialise des légumes frais, des fruits, des herbes et des épices de haut de gamme, ainsi que des plats cuisinés. L’entreprise a été créée au retour de Catherine du Royaume-Uni alors qu’elle remarque que les aliments disponibles au Ghana étaient principalement composés de glucides et de protéines, les quelques légumes étant importés d’autres pays et très chers. Elle ne trouvait pas d’herbes fraîches mais seulement des herbes importées sous forme séchée. Catherine a donc décidé de proposer des alternatives aux importations qui soient fraîches, emballées de manière attrayante, comme les produits vendus dans les chaînes de supermarchés britanniques, et à un prix raisonnable. Catherine a commencé à cultiver des herbes, puis établi des partenariats avec des agriculteurs locaux pour s’approvisionner en fruits et légumes.

Entre autres récompenses, Eden Tree a reçu la distinction « entreprise exceptionnelle de légumes frais » par la Chambre ghanéenne de l’agro-industrie comme et le certificat d’excellence 2018 « Heleh Africa – Spirited Africa – Outstanding Healthy Agro-processing Industry of the Year ».

Eden Tree est aujourd’hui l’un des plus gros fournisseurs d’Afrique de l’Ouest, vendant initialement ses produits aux expatriés vivant au Ghana, et maintenant aussi aux Ghanéens de la classe moyenne.

Le principal concurrent d’Eden Tree est la chaîne de magasins sud-africaine Shoprite, car sa filiale ghanéenne, Freshmark, s’approvisionne en produits frais directement auprès des producteurs locaux, comme Eden Tree.

Des relations solides avec les petits exploitants

Eden Tree travaille avec plus de 200 petits fournisseurs agréés dans cinq zones métropolitaines et municipales et 11 districts du Ghana. Eden Tree possède également trois sites agricoles au Ghana (Asutsuare, Ada et Nsawam) sur un total de 52 acres pour y cultiver des légumes.

Eden Tree travaille en étroite collaboration avec ses fournisseurs et les aide à mieux développer leur production, notamment en leur accordant des prêts pour améliorer leur production et acheter des intrants. Eden Tree a créé des emplois pour les agriculteurs urbains d’Accra et de la région d’Ada en leur offrant des formations et des enseignements.

Eden Tree soutient également les communautés impliquées dans son activité en payant les frais de scolarité des enfants des membres du personnel, en fournissant du matériel éducatif et en organisant des soins infirmiers pour permettre aux mères de continuer à travailler et à s’occuper de leurs enfants. L’entreprise a fait don d’équipements à 20 femmes pour qu’elles apprennent les métiers de la couture et de la restauration afin de subvenir à leurs besoins et à ceux de leurs communautés dans les régions du nord et de Brong-Ahafo au Ghana.

Produits couverts et marchés

Eden Tree commercialise des légumes, fruits et herbes frais emballés.

Eden Tree produit également des plats cuisinés sous forme de légumes préparés, de salades prêtes à consommer, d’ail écrasé et d’autres produits à valeur ajoutée.

L’entreprise produit des jus de fruits frais, des épices (y compris des mélanges d’épices prêts à cuire), des céréales, de la farine et des noix.

Les produits sains à valeur ajoutée sont principalement vendus au Ghana, mais sont également exportés en Afrique de l’Ouest.

Eden Tree a trois principales branches commerciales: la culture et le conditionnement de produits frais, les aliments prêts à consommer et les jus de fruits frais. Une quatrième branche, les livraisons à domicile, est en cours de création pour répondre à la demande croissante pendant la pandémie de Covid-19.

Eden Tree possède le certificat de l’autorité des denrées alimentaires et des médicaments et est en train d’obtenir le certificat HACCP.

Innovations : Étapes importantes et plans d’expansion

En 2015, l’investissement de la société de capital-investissement Investisseurs & Partenaires a contribué à professionnaliser l’entreprise et à créer une usine de transformation et de conditionnement. Cela a permis de contourner le soutien financier limité accordé par les banques ghanéennes (elles proposent en général que des prêts de 2 à 3 ans).

Eden Tree a également conclu des partenariats avec deux agences de développement, le GhanaVeg Program et le GIZ Green Label Program, afin de développer davantage son activité.

La société a récemment ouvert son propre magasin dans la banlieue d’Accra et envisage de créer une chaîne de petits magasins afin de vendre ses produits directement aux consommateurs finaux. Elle fait également partie d’un nouveau programme de certification local, le « Ghana Green Label scheme », qui vise à donner confiance aux consommateurs dans les aliments frais cultivés localement et, à terme, à créer de nouvelles entreprises participantes pour les marchés d’exportation.

Eden Tree s’intéresse également aux énergies durables (système d’énergie mixte solaire/réseau) pour alimenter son usine de production.

L’une des principales difficultés rencontrées par Eden Tree concerne la formation du personnel, car changer les mentalités et les comportements des employés pour les aligner sur les attentes de l’entreprise prend beaucoup de temps.

Eden Tree a développé une grande responsabilité sociale et contribue à diverses organisations ghanéennes à but non lucratif, notamment la Share Foundation, la Dzorwulu Special School, la Ledzokuku Krowor Municipal Education Directorate, la Community Hope and Care Foundation et la Help Feed the Children Foundation.

Additional Resources

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Recent Business Profiles

BioLife Tech

BioLife Tech

BioLife Tech offre des solutions numériques qui connectent les producteurs d'ananas au Bénin avec les transformateurs locaux, les exportateurs et les commerçants, et permettent un suivi technique....

lire plus
Lovegrass Ltd.

Lovegrass Ltd.

Lovegrass LTD est une entreprise qui fabrique des produits à base de teff. L'entreprise a été présentée pendant laSession Innovation n°16.

lire plus
Inter-Connect Point LTD

Inter-Connect Point LTD

Inter-Connect Point est une entreprise d'agritech qui a créé une solution technologique pour améliorer la production de thé. Ils ont fait une présentation lors de la session d'innovation n°15.

lire plus
Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm

La ferme Panuka produit des légumes frais en Zambie en utilisant des techniques agricoles adaptées au changement climatique et en combinant productivité et conservation de la biodiversité....

lire plus
Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa soutient les communautés locales zambiennes et l'environnement via la transformation agroalimentaire et l'agroforesterie en ajoutant de la valeur aux fruits indigènes. Ils ont fait une...

lire plus

Gallery

Video Recording

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Catherine is a Ghanaian Entrepreneur, Founder and CEO of Eden Tree Ltd. Catherine started her career as a banker at the Saudi American Bank office in London where she worked for ten years. She returned to Ghana in 1996 and started Eden Tree in 1997.

Her success with Eden Tree and engagement in promoting women in business have been recognized with several distinctions and awards including the 2012 national award from the Charted Institute of Marketing in Ghana for “outstanding contribution awards nation-building”, the Ghana Agribusiness Entrepreneur Award of the Year 2013 and 2015, the Feminine Ghana Achievement Awards 2016, the Most Outstanding Entrepreneur – Agriculture Sector (Third Feminine Ghana Achievement Award 2017), a life Time Achievement Award for promoting Urban farming in Ghana, TV Africa Award in Recognition of Women of Substance in Distinction in the Ghanaian Society and recently the First Lady’s Excellence Award for the 2019 International Women’s Day.

Catherine Krobo Edusei,

CEO, Eden Tree Ltd

Business Location: Lashibi, Ghana

Type: Limited Liability Company
Founded: 1997
Employees: 66
Founder: Catherine Krobo Edusei

 

Business model

The driving motto of Eden Tree is “Healthier People, Better Nation”, as the company considers good nutrition to be key to a successful and emerging economy. To promote healthy eating habits, Eden Tree acts as a bridge between farmers and consumers by connecting farmers to markets. It also incorporates innovation and environmental protection in its business model, which is based on three core business values:

  • sustainability and respect for all stakeholders within the value chain, the environment, and the communities supplying products;
  • good relationships along the value chain with business partners and the community;
  • profitability to support culture and family.

Eden Tree has been in food and agribusiness of fresh herbs, fruit and vegetables distributed to supermarkets and catering firms in Ghana for the past 24 years.

Eden Tree applies an integrated business model, as it produces, packages and markets high-end fresh vegetables, fruit, herbs and spices, as well as convenience foods. The company was created shortly after Catherine returned from the UK when she noticed that the food available in Ghana mainly consisted of carbohydrates and protein, with the few vegetables imported from other countries and very expensive. She couldn’t find fresh herbs, only imported herbs in dried form. So Catherine decided to provide alternatives to imports that are fresh, attractively packaged in a similar way to the produce sold in UK supermarket chains, and price-friendly. Catherine first started growing herbs and then established partnerships with local farmers to supply vegetables and fruits.

Among other awards, Eden Tree has been recognised by the Ghanaian Chamber of Agribusiness with the “Outstanding Fresh Vegetables Company” distinction and the 2018 Certificate of Excellence as “Heleh Africa – Spirited Africa – Outstanding Healthy Agro-processing Industry of the Year”.

Eden Tree is nowadays one of the biggest suppliers within West Africa, initially selling its produce to expatriates living in Ghana, and now also to middle-class Ghanaians.

Eden Tree’s main competitor is the South African retail chain Shoprite because its Ghanaian subsidiary, Freshmark, sources most of its fresh produce directly from local producers, similarly to Eden Tree.

Strong relationship with smallholders

Eden Tree works with over 200 approved smallholder suppliers in five Metropolitan and Municipal Areas and 11 Districts in Ghana. Eden Tree also has three farm sites in Ghana (Asutsuare, Ada and Nsawam) totalling 52 acres, where it grows vegetables.

Eden Tree works closely with its outgrowers and helps them to better develop their production, including by providing loans to improve production and to buy inputs. Eden Tree created jobs for urban farmers in Accra and the Ada area by providing training and education to its stakeholders.

Eden Tree also supports the communities involved in its business by paying tuition fees for the children of staff members, providing educational materials, and organising nursing to enable mothers to continue to work and attend to their children. The company also donated equipments to 20 women to learn the craft of dress-making and catering to sustain themselves and their communities in the Northern and Brong Ahafo regions of Ghana.

Products covered and markets

Eden Tree supplies packaged fresh vegetables, fruit and herbs.

Eden Tree also produces convenience foods in the form of prepared vegetables, ready-to-eat salads, crushed garlic and other value-added products.

The company supplies fresh fruit juices, spices (including ready-to-cook spice mixes), cereals, flour and nuts.

The heathy value-added products are mainly sold in Ghana and will soon be exported within West Africa.

Eden Tree has three main business channels: growing and packaging fresh produce, convenience foods, and fresh fruit juices. A fourth channel, home deliveries, is being created to meet demand arising during the Covid-19 pandemic.

Eden Tree has the Food and Drugs Authority Certificate and is going through the process of obtaining HACCP Certificate.

Innovations: Milestones and expansion plans

In 2015, the investments of the private equity firm Investisseurs & Partenaires contributed to professionalising the business and creating a processing and packaging factory, circumventing the limited financial support granted by Ghanaian banks (they usually offer loans for 2 to 3 years only).

Eden Tree has also concluded partnerships with two development agencies, GhanaVeg Program and GIZ Green Label Program, to further develop its business.

The company recently established its own branded store on the outskirts of Accra and envisions creating a chain of small shops in order to sell its produce directly to end consumers. It is also part of a new local certification programme, the Ghana Green Label scheme, which aims to give consumers confidence in locally grown fresh foods and, in time, to establish new participating businesses for export markets.

Eden Tree is also exploring sustainable energy resources (mixed solar/grid energy system) for its factory.

One of the main difficulties Eden Tree has faced relates to training staff, as changing workers’ mindsets and behaviour to align them with business expectations can be time consuming.

Eden Tree is strongly committed to corporate social responsibility and contributes to various Ghanaian nonprofit organisations, including Share Foundation, Dzorwulu Special School, Ledzokuku Krowor Municipal Education Directorate, Community Hope and Care Foundation, and Help Feed the Children Foundation.

 

Additional Resources

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Recent Business Profiles

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm produces fresh vegetables in Zambia using agricultural techniques adapted to cimate change and combines productivity with biodiversity conservation. The company was presented in the...

read more
Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa supports local Zambian communities and the environment through agroprocessing and agroforestery by adding value to indigeneous fruit. They presented at Innovation Session n°14.

read more
Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens is a family run farm, specialising in the growing, packing and export of fresh herbs and vegetables. They presented at Innovation Session n°8.

read more
Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions is a bio-tech and agri-tech company using organic wastes such as garbage, fruit peels and animal urine mixed with botanical extracts to form two-in-one organic pesticides and...

read more
Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics is an aqua-tech company that leverages artificial intelligence to grow crustaceans in freshwater and ensures production all-year round, enabling a consistent supply of premium...

read more

Gallery

Video Recording

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This