Gustav Dessogom Bakoundah est un entrepreneur engagé et reconnu. Il a créé Label d’Or en 2012, entreprise dont il est le directeur.

Auparavant, il formait des producteurs d’ananas biologiques aux règles de production et développait l’exportation de fruits tropicaux togolais avec ses partenaires en France depuis 2008. En plus de ses fonctions pour Label d’Or, Gustav est le Président du Conseil d’Administration de l’usine de transformation de fruits en jus, Jus Délice. Gustav est aussi Président de l’Association Nationale des Commerçants Exportateurs de Soja (ANCES) et le premier Président du Conseil Interprofessionnel de la Filière du Soja du Togo (CIFS).

Gustav a été élevé au grade d’Officier de l’Ordre du Mono et de l’Ordre national du Mérite agricole au Togo. Il a également reçu la médaille de Chevalier de l’Ordre du Mérite Agricole de la République française en 2021 qui récompense son parcours et l’envergure de ses projets qui fédèrent les producteurs autour de pratiques biologiques. Gustav porte un intérêt particulier à la collégialité et prend la plupart des décisions concernant Label d’Or en équipe. Label d’Or a un Comité de direction, composé de 5 cadres de l’entreprise, qui se réunit tous les mois pour examiner et fixer les priorités et les objectifs de la société.

Gustav Dessogom Bakoundah

CEO, Label d'Or

Business Location: Lomé, Togo

Statut de la société : Société à responsabilité limitée
Année de création : 2012
Number d’employés : 72 personnes, dont 64 techniciens contrôleurs internes.
PDG : Gustav Dessogom Bakoundah

Modèle d’entreprise

Label d’Or opère selon une approche « sociale-lucrative » : l’entreprise forme les producteurs sur les normes biologiques, les aide à s’organiser en groupes afin de faire face à la concurrence et achète les produits à des prix équitables. Label d’Or accompagne les agriculteurs dans leurs projets et promeut l’innovation par l’expérimentation et la recherche.

Créée en 2012, l’entreprise Label d’Or se structure autour de diverses activités agricoles soutenant l’agriculture biologique. Elle soutient une agriculture durable et responsable et promeut un impact économique, social et environnemental dans le but de permettre aux populations d’entreprendre dans le domaine agricole et de vivre dignement. L’entreprise est spécialisée dans la production biologique, la transformation de produits et l’exportation de produits biologiques. Elle développe actuellement 14 filières agricoles biologiques composées de fruits et légumes, des oléagineux et graines et des huiles.

Label d’Or est une entreprise togolaise pionnière dans l’appui des filières agricoles tout au long de la chaîne de valeur (production, transformation, exportation). Son champ d’action couvre toutes les régions du pays.

Les produits tels que les graines de soja, l’ananas, la papaye, la mangue, le fonio, le tournesol, l’amande de karité et le piment antillais sont essentiellement destinés à l’exportation vers l’Union européenne. Ces exportations ont été faites en particulier vers la France, l’Italie, la Belgique et les Pays-Bas ces dernières années. Malgré la crise sanitaire de la Covid-19, l’entreprise a exporté plusieurs milliers de tonnes de produits agricoles biologiques en 2020.

Des relations solides avec les petits exploitants

Label d’Or entretient des relations étroites et contractuelles avec ses producteurs togolais. L’entreprise leur fournit un accès aux semences de qualité et soutient ses producteurs à développer de nouvelles compétences, notamment en les initiant aux techniques de l’agriculture biologique. De plus, l’entreprise les encourage et les accompagne à s’organiser en coopératives.

Label d’Or travaille avec plus de 10 000 producteurs togolais sur une quinzaine de produits. La société a obtenu une certification biologique sur 9879 hectares en 2020. L’entreprise est relativement jeune : toute l’équipe à une moyenne d’âge de 32 ans et oriente ses actions particulièrement envers les jeunes et les femmes. Elle mobilise, par exemple, 5 800 femmes pour la filière du karité.

Produits et marchés

Label d’Or produit de nombreux fruits, légumes et oléagineux comme le soja, le fonio, le tournesol, le karité, l’ananas, la papaye, l’avocat, le curcuma ou encore le gingembre. L’entreprise transforme également des produits, notamment l’ananas en jus de fruit frais et le karité en beurre.

Label d’Or s’engage à mettre au point une traçabilité complète de ses produits et propose une offre de services unique, adaptée aux besoins des petits producteurs afin de renforcer leur positionnement sur le marché. L’entreprise soutient notamment l’organisation des producteurs en coopératives et unions de producteurs, ainsi que l’organisation et développement des filières biologiques selon les besoins du marché. Elle propose aussi des formations sur l’agriculture biologique, des audits et certifications, etc.

De plus, afin de développer les filières porteuses de l’agriculture biologique, Label d’Or s’engage à :
• Sensibiliser les producteurs à l’agriculture biologique,
• Promouvoir les filières biologiques (en particulier les oléagineux et les épices) auprès des producteurs et de l’administration,
• Former des techniciens aux normes de l’agriculture biologique,
• Développer l’ensemble des filières, y compris en produisant du compost et en permettant la mécanisation des outils,
• Donner aux producteurs un accès au financement,
• Conduire des recherches et études sur les filières porteuses.

Les productions et produits transformés de Label d’Or sont certifiés biologiques, notamment par Cérès GmbH et Ecocert SA.

Innovations : Étapes importantes et plans d’expansion

L’activité de transformation des fruits en jus de Label d’Or a été optimisée en 2019 grâce à la création de l’usine Jus Délice. Il s’agit de la première usine moderne de transformation des fruits biologiques en jus et en purée au Togo. Cette usine complètement automatisée répond aux normes internationales (en matière de qualité des produits, de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement), ce qui permet d’exporter le jus et la purée vers des industriels partout dans le monde. La création de cette usine est le résultat d’une collaboration entre les acteurs du secteur au Togo particulièrement Label d’Or et son Directeur Gustav Bakoundah, Président du conseil d’administration de Jus Délice ; le Fonds Moringa, principal financeur ; des professionnels du secteur privé Français ; et la coopération allemande (BMZ) pour accompagner l’encadrement des producteurs à travers son programme DEVELOPP. L’usine de transformation Jus Délice bénéficie du statut d’entreprise de la zone franche lui permettant d’exporter sa production selon des conditions fiscales et douanières avantageuses.

Actuellement, Label d’Or investit dans la consolidation de toute la chaine de valeur de l’ananas biologique (production, transformation, recyclage etc.). L’entreprise travaille également au développement d’autres filières, notamment sur des projets avec pour l’objectif de produire au moins 2 000 tonnes respectives de beurre de karité et de soja d’ici 2023.

Facteurs de succès et enseignements tirés

Pour promouvoir la biodiversité et une production durable et éco-responsable, l’entreprise s’engage à consacrer 0,25% de ces parcelles aux arbres. De plus, les déchets et épluchures d’ananas issus de l’usine de Jus Délice (environ 2500 tonnes en 2020) sont transformés en compost.

En novembre 2021, Label d’Or a été récompensé pour son excellence et son amélioration continue lors du 32ème International World Quality Commitment Convention Paris 2021 en recevant le prix World Quality Commitment (WQC). Ce prix a été remis suite à une analyse des compétences et des qualités de l’entreprise par un jury de plus de 90 pays. Il s’agit d’une première pour une entreprise togolaise du secteur privé.

Additional Resources

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Recent Business Profiles

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm

La ferme Panuka produit des légumes frais en Zambie en utilisant des techniques agricoles adaptées au changement climatique et en combinant productivité et conservation de la biodiversité....

lire plus
Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa soutient les communautés locales zambiennes et l'environnement via la transformation agroalimentaire et l'agroforesterie en ajoutant de la valeur aux fruits indigènes. Ils ont fait une...

lire plus
Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens est une exploitation agricole familiale spécialisée dans la culture, l'emballage et l'exportation d'herbes et de légumes frais. Ils ont fait une présentation lors de la session...

lire plus
Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions est une entreprise de biotechnologie et d'agrotechnologie qui utilise des déchets organiques tels que des ordures, des pelures de fruits et de l'urine d'animaux mélangés à des...

lire plus
Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics est une entreprise d'aqua-technologie qui s'appuie sur l'intelligence artificielle pour cultiver des crustacés en eau douce et garantir une production tout au long de l'année, ce...

lire plus

Gallery

Video Recording

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Gustav Dessogom Bakoundah is a committed and recognised entrepreneur. He is the founder and director of Label d’Or, a company founded in 2012.

Previously, he trained organic pineapple producers in production rules and has been developing the export of Togolese tropical fruits with his partners in France since 2008. Gustav is the President of the Board of Directors of the fruit juice processing plant, Jus Délice. He is also President of the National Association of Soybean Exporters (Association Nationale des Commerçants Exportateurs de Soja, ANCES) and the first President of the Interprofessional Council of the Soybean Sector of Togo (Conseil Interprofessionnel de la Filière du Soja du Togo, CIFS).

Gustav was made an Officer of the Order of Mono (the highest Togolese order of chivalry) and received the National Order of Agricultural Merit in Togo. He was also awarded the medal of Knight of the Order of Agricultural Merit of the French Republic in 2021, which rewards his career and the scope of his projects uniting producers around organic practices. Gustav has a particular interest in collegiality and makes most decisions about Label d’Or within a team. The company has a Management Committee of five5 company executives, meeting monthly to discuss and set the company’s priorities and objectives.

Gustav Dessogom Bakoundah

CEO, Label d'Or

Business Location: Lomé, Togo

Type: Limited Liability Company
Year of Founding: 2012
Number of Staff: 72 including 64 internal control technicians
CEO: Gustav Dessogom Bakoundah

Business Model

Label d’Or operates with a “social-profit” approach: the company trains producers on organic standards, helps them to organise themselves competitively, and buys their products at fair prices. Label d’Or supports farmers in their projects and promotes innovation through experimentation and research.

Created in 2012, the Label d’Or company is structured around various agricultural activities supporting organic farming. It supports sustainable and responsible agriculture and promotes economic, social and environmental impacts, aiming at enabling people to undertake agricultural activities and live in dignity. The company specialises in organic production, processing and export of organic products. It is currently developing 14 organic agricultural chains of fruit and vegetables, oilseeds and oils.

Label d’Or is a pioneering Togolese company in its support of agricultural sectors throughout the value chain (production, processing, export). Its field of action covers all regions of the country.

Products such as soya beans, pineapple, papaya, mango, fonio, sunflower, shea kernel and West Indian chilli are mainly destined for export to the European Union, especially to France, Italy, Belgium and the Netherlands in recent years. Despite the Covid-19 health crisis, the company exported several thousand tons of organic agricultural products in 2020.

Strong Relationships with Smallholders

Label d’Or has a close contractual relationship with its Togolese producers. The company provides them with access to quality seeds, and supports its producers in developing new skills, particularly by introducing them to organic farming techniques. In addition, the company encourages and supports them to organise into cooperatives.

Label d’Or works with more than 10,000 Togolese producers on about 15 products. The company obtained organic certification for 9,879 hectares in 2020. Label d’Or is a relatively young company: the entire team has an average age of 32 years, and focuses its actions particularly on young people and women. For example, it mobilises 5,800 women in the shea butter sector.

Products and Markets

Label d’Or produces many fruits, vegetables and oilseeds, including soya, fonio, sunflower, shea, pineapple, papaya, avocado, turmeric and ginger.
The company also processes products such as pineapple into fresh fruit juice and shea butter.

Label d’Or is committed to developing full traceability of its products and offering a unique range of services, adapted to the needs of small producers, and strengthening their position on the market. In particular, the company supports the organisation of producers into cooperatives and producer unions, as well as the organisation and development of organic channels according to market needs. The company also offers training in organic farming, audits and certification, etc.

In order to develop the organic farming sectors, Label d’Or is committed to :
• raising awareness of organic farming among producers,
• promoting organic sectors (especially oilseeds and spices) to producers and the administration,
• training technicians in organic farming standards,
• developing the whole range of activities, including the production of compost and the mechanisation of tools,
• givinge producers access to finance,
• conducting research and studies on promising sectors.

Label d’Or’s production and processed products are certified organic, notably by Cérès GmbH and Ecocert SA.

Innovations: Milestones and Expansion Plans

Label d’Or’s fruit juice processing activity was optimised in 2019 with the creation of the Jus Délice plant. This is the first modern organic fruit juice and purée processing plant in Togo. The fully automated plant meets international standards (in terms of product quality, safety and environmental protection), making it possible to export the juice and purée to manufacturers all over the world. Its creation is the result of a collaboration between actors in the sector in Togo, particularly Label d’Or and its Director Gustav Bakoundah, President of the Board of Directors of Jus Délice; the Moringa Fund, the principal financier; professionals from the French private sector; and the German Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) to support the supervision of producers through its develoPPP programme. The Jus Délice processing plant benefits from the status of a free zone company, allowing it to export its production under advantageous tax and customs conditions.

Currently, Label d’Or is investing in the consolidation of the entire organic pineapple value chain (production, processing, recycling etc.). The company is also working on the development of other value chains, in particular on projects aiming to produce at least 2,000 tons each of shea butter and soya butter respectively by 2023.

Success Factors and Lessons Learned

To promote biodiversity and sustainable, eco-responsible production, Label d’Or is committed to devoting 0.25% of its plots to trees. In addition, pineapple waste and peelings from the Jus Délice plant (approximately 2,500 tons in 2020) are processed into compost.

In November 2021, Label d’Or was recognised for its excellence and continuous improvement at the 32nd International World Quality Commitment (WQC) Convention in Paris 2021 by when it received the (WQC) award. The award was given following an analysis of the company’s skills and qualities by a jury from over 90 countries, marking the first win by a Togolese private sector company.

Additional Resources

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Recent Business Profiles

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm produces fresh vegetables in Zambia using agricultural techniques adapted to cimate change and combines productivity with biodiversity conservation. The company was presented in the...

read more
Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa supports local Zambian communities and the environment through agroprocessing and agroforestery by adding value to indigeneous fruit. They presented at Innovation Session n°14.

read more
Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens is a family run farm, specialising in the growing, packing and export of fresh herbs and vegetables. They presented at Innovation Session n°8.

read more
Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions is a bio-tech and agri-tech company using organic wastes such as garbage, fruit peels and animal urine mixed with botanical extracts to form two-in-one organic pesticides and...

read more
Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics is an aqua-tech company that leverages artificial intelligence to grow crustaceans in freshwater and ensures production all-year round, enabling a consistent supply of premium...

read more

Gallery

Video Recording

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This