Edmond est un professionnel de l’agriculture et un entrepreneur soucieux du climat, avec six ans d’expérience dans les pratiques agroalimentaires durables. En 2016, Edmond a rejoint le programme d’incubation de l’Institut international d’agriculture tropicale (IITA) sur l’agriculture intelligente face au climat. En 2022, il a participé au cours sur l’innovation et l’esprit d’entreprise de l’école d’ingénierie du Centre de développement professionnel de Stanford. De 2017 à 2018, Edmond a travaillé en tant que gestionnaire agro-industriel et agent de développement pour le programme Technologies for African Agricultural Transformation (TAAT) et Enable Youth à l’IITA. Depuis 2018, il offre à la jeunesse africaine des connaissances et un mentorat sur les technologies agricoles modernes et intelligentes face au climat comme solution pour lutter contre la faim, la pauvreté, le chômage et le changement climatique. Edmond avait été reconnu en 2022 lors de la 27ème Conférence des Parties (CoP27) et en 2023 par l’Agence Française de Développement (AFD).

Edmond Ng'walago

CEO, Ngwala Inventions

Business Location: Kibaha, Tanzanie

Statut de l’entreprise : Limitée
Année de création : 2020
Nombre d’employés : 6
PDG : Edmond Ng’walago

Mission : Devenir le premier producteur et distributeur régional de pesticides et d’engrais biologiques grâce à un système de distribution numérique innovant qui soutient les agriculteurs ruraux.

Vision : L’agriculture biologique en Afrique est rentable et durable – elle facilite les solutions agricoles à la faim, à la pauvreté, au climat, à l’environnement et à la santé.

Modèle d’entreprise

Ngwala Inventions produit la solution de pesticides et d’engrais organiques, et conçoit, fabrique et déploie les distributeurs de solutions. Il a été créé pour s’attaquer à plusieurs problèmes liés à l’utilisation de pesticides et d’engrais afin de rendre l’agriculture plus rentable et plus sûre pour les agriculteurs africains, ainsi que plus durable. La plupart des pesticides et des engrais disponibles sur le marché sont très chers car ils sont importés en Afrique et soumis à une forte volatilité des prix. Le manque d’infrastructures de distribution et de commercialisation est à l’origine des coûts supplémentaires que les (petits) agriculteurs supportent lorsqu’ils achètent des intrants agricoles. Pour rendre les pesticides et les engrais plus abordables, Ngwala Inventions a mis au point une technologie qui permet de réduire les coûts de production et de faciliter la distribution.

L’entreprise produit une solution de pesticide et d’engrais biologique deux-en-un de haute qualité à partir de déchets organiques (par exemple des ordures, des pelures de fruits et de l’urine animale) collectés dans les fermes et les ménages et mélangés à des extraits botaniques. Cette valorisation des déchets permet de réduire les coûts (finaux) des intrants agricoles, mais aussi de résoudre les problèmes liés à l’application d’intrants chimiques, qui peuvent entraîner une exposition à des produits chimiques dangereux et nuire à l’environnement.

Ngwala Inventions construit et déploie également des distributeurs numériques et solaires qui (re)remplissent automatiquement les conteneurs avec la solution pesticide-fertilisant. Les distributeurs sont placés directement dans les exploitations agricoles afin de faciliter l’accès aux agriculteurs locaux. Les paiements mobiles peuvent être effectués par carte directement au distributeur, ce qui permet également l’accès au crédit. Les distributeurs sont également mis à la disposition d’autres fabricants d’intrants biologiques. Ngwala Inventions » perçoit une commission de 10 % par litre de pesticide et d’engrais biologiques auprès des fabricants qui proposent leurs produits par l’intermédiaire de leur système de distribution numérique.

Ngwala Inventions est un pionnier de la production et de la distribution d’intrants agricoles en Tanzanie et dans la région de l’Afrique de l’Est.

Relations avec les petits exploitants

Depuis sa création, Ngwala Inventions a travaillé avec plus de 200 000 petits exploitants agricoles, dont des jeunes et des femmes, de Tanzanie, du Kenya et du Rwanda. Le distributeur numérique et solaire permet de distribuer des pesticides et des engrais biologiques aux petits exploitants agricoles à moindre coût et de manière rapide et fiable.

Produits et marchés

En juin 2023, Ngwala Inventions lancera également son nouveau produit homologué appelé Vuna Fresh, un bio-insecticide destiné à lutter contre le ver de la capsule africaine sur les cultures de tomates et de coton.

Tous les produits de Ngwala Inventions, ainsi que d’autres pesticides et engrais biologiques sous forme liquide, peuvent être distribués à l’aide des distributeurs automatiques de la société. Ces machines décentralisent la distribution de pesticides et d’engrais organiques sur des bases de recharge, remplaçant ainsi l’utilisation de produits chimiques emballés dans des conteneurs en plastique. Ils permettent aux agriculteurs d’acheter les quantités exactes de pesticides et/ou d’engrais dont ils ont besoin pour éviter tout gaspillage.

La machine est également associée à une application mobile qui permet aux agriculteurs de suivre les dépenses, les quantités et l’impact de l’application de pesticides et/ou d’engrais biologiques sur leur exploitation. Grâce à l’application, les agriculteurs peuvent également scanner leurs cultures et déterminer les parasites et les maladies qui les affectent. En outre, il permet d’analyser le sol pour déterminer les carences en éléments nutritifs, de sorte que les agriculteurs puissent prendre des décisions éclairées sur le dosage de l’engrais nécessaire.

Le système de distribution est alimenté par l’énergie solaire et comprend un port USB qui permet aux agriculteurs de recharger leur téléphone directement dans les champs. Regardez la démonstration du distributeur intelligent Ngwala en cliquant ici.

Ngwala Inventions opère actuellement en Afrique de l’Est, plus précisément en Tanzanie et au Rwanda, auprès de petits exploitants agricoles (âgés pour la plupart de 18 à 50 ans) qui vivent dans des zones rurales et cultivent des légumes et des céréales.

Innovations : Étapes importantes et plans d’expansion

Ngwala Inventions fonctionne selon une approche de circularité afin de réduire les impacts négatifs de l’agriculture sur l’environnement et sur les moyens de subsistance. En valorisant des déchets organiques qui seraient autrement mis au rebut, l’entreprise permet de produire des intrants agricoles de haute qualité à moindre coût, ce qui permet de vendre des produits abordables aux petits exploitants. En fait, le produit est directement vendu aux petits exploitants agricoles à 7 USD le litre, soit 2 USD de moins que les concurrents.

Grâce à son modèle de chaîne de valeur intégrée, Ngwala Inventions est en mesure de déployer son distributeur numérique à grande échelle afin d’atteindre un plus grand nombre de petits exploitants agricoles. Ngwala Inventions a pour objectif d’atteindre 100 millions de petits exploitants agricoles en Afrique d’ici 2025.

Facteurs de réussite et enseignements tirés

Ngwala Inventions permet aux petits exploitants agricoles d’augmenter leurs revenus en réduisant leurs coûts d’exploitation tout en augmentant leurs volumes de production. En vendant ses pesticides et engrais biologiques à un prix inférieur à celui de ses concurrents, l’entreprise réduit ses coûts de production de 30 %. En même temps, la solution concentrée et de haute qualité contribue à augmenter les rendements de 1,5 à 3 tonnes par hectare.

L’entreprise a intégré dans son modèle d’entreprise son engagement en faveur du développement durable en protégeant la santé et l’environnement. D’une part, elle offre une alternative sûre à l’utilisation de pesticides et d’engrais chimiques. D’autre part, il favorise la transition vers des pratiques agricoles biologiques en rendant les pesticides et les engrais biologiques abordables, y compris pour les petits exploitants aux ressources financières limitées qui peuvent acheter ces intrants à crédit. Cela permet en particulier aux femmes et aux jeunes, qui ont plus de difficultés à accéder aux ressources financières, de se prendre en charge. L’entreprise contribue à la réduction des déchets plastiques, car les agriculteurs n’ont pas besoin d’acheter des intrants agricoles dans de nouveaux conteneurs, mais peuvent remplir leurs conteneurs directement aux distributeurs.

En outre, en déployant des distributeurs dans les zones rurales, directement dans les exploitations agricoles, Ngwala Inventions réduit les coûts de transport et le temps passé par les agriculteurs ruraux à acheter ces intrants dans les magasins agricoles. On estime que les distributeurs permettent d’économiser près de 150 USD en frais de transport et 120 heures de temps de déplacement consacrés par un agriculteur chaque saison à l’achat d’intrants agricoles.
Le port USB inclus dans le système de distribution favorise l’accès aux ressources dans les zones rurales isolées en permettant aux agriculteurs de recharger leurs appareils mobiles sur place.

L’entreprise a travaillé directement ou indirectement avec plus de 200 000 petits exploitants agricoles et a contribué à la création de plus de 120 emplois.
Ngwala Inventions travaille actuellement en partenariat avec le Programme des Nations unies pour le développement (PNUD) afin de s’assurer que les petits exploitants agricoles de Tanzanie disposent des connaissances nécessaires pour convertir leurs déchets organiques en intrants organiques et pour utiliser correctement ces intrants afin de maximiser les rendements. L’entreprise a également collaboré avec d’autres institutions telles que la Convention-cadre des Nations unies sur les changements climatiques (CCNUCC) et la Banque mondiale.

L’impact des inventions de Ngwala sur la biodiversité, la sécurité alimentaire et la durabilité des moyens de subsistance des petits exploitants agricoles a été reconnu par plusieurs distinctions et prix. Entre autres réalisations, l’entreprise a été l’un des 12 premiers finalistes de l’AgriHack 2021 et a reçu un prix de la Commission tanzanienne pour la science et la technologie (COSTECH). Elle a également fait partie des finalistes acceptés dans la deuxième cohorte de l’incubateur de la Conservation Finance Alliance (CFA).

Additional Resources

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Recent Business Profiles

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm

La ferme Panuka produit des légumes frais en Zambie en utilisant des techniques agricoles adaptées au changement climatique et en combinant productivité et conservation de la biodiversité....

lire plus
Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa soutient les communautés locales zambiennes et l'environnement via la transformation agroalimentaire et l'agroforesterie en ajoutant de la valeur aux fruits indigènes. Ils ont fait une...

lire plus
Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens est une exploitation agricole familiale spécialisée dans la culture, l'emballage et l'exportation d'herbes et de légumes frais. Ils ont fait une présentation lors de la session...

lire plus
Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics est une entreprise d'aqua-technologie qui s'appuie sur l'intelligence artificielle pour cultiver des crustacés en eau douce et garantir une production tout au long de l'année, ce...

lire plus
AGROTECH

AGROTECH

AGROTECH est une coopérative de femmes spécialisée dans la production, la transformation et la commercialisation de produits agricoles. Ils ont fait une présentation lors de la session d'innovation...

lire plus

Gallery

Video Recording

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Edmond is a climate smart agricultural professional and entrepreneur with six years of experience in sustainable agribusiness practices. In 2016, Edmond joined the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) climate smart agriculture incubation programme. In 2022, he participated in the innovation and entrepreneurship course from the School of Engineering of the Stanford Centre for Professional Development. From 2017 to 2018, Edmond worked as an agribusiness manager and development officer for the Technologies for African Agricultural Transformation Program (TAAT) and Enable Youth at IITA. Since 2018, he has been offering knowledge and mentorship to African youth on modern climate smart agricultural technologies as the solution to fight hunger, poverty, unemployment and climate change. Edmond had received recognition in 2022 during the 27th Conference of the Parties (CoP27) and in 2023 from the French Development Agency (AFD).

Edmond Ng'walago

CEO, Ngwala Inventions

Business Location: Kibaha, Tanzania

Type: Limited
Year of Founding: 2020
Number of Employees: 6
CEO: Edmond Ng’walago

Mission: To become the leading regional producer and distributor of organic pesticides and fertilisers through an innovative digital delivery system that supports rural farmers

Vision: Organic agriculture in Africa is cost-effective and sustainable – facilitating agricultural solutions to hunger, poverty, climate, environment and health

Business Model

Ngwala Inventions produces the organic pesticide-fertiliser solution, as well as designs, manufactures and deploys the solutions dispensers. It was created to tackle several issues linked to the use of pesticides and fertilisers in order to make farming more profitable and safer for African farmers, as well as more sustainable. Most of the pesticides and fertilisers available on the market are very expensive as they are imported to Africa and subject to high price volatility. The lack of distribution and marketing infrastructures account for additional costs that (smallholder) farmers bear when purchasing farming inputs. To make pesticides and fertilisers more affordable, Ngwala Inventions has developed a technology that enables the reduction of production costs and eases the distribution.

The company produces a high quality two-in-one organic pesticide and fertiliser solution from organic waste (e.g. garbage, fruit peels and animal urine) that is collected from farms and households and mixed with botanical extracts. This waste valorisation reduce the (end-)costs of the farming input but also addresses the problems associated with the application of chemical inputs, which can lead to dangerous chemical exposures and harms the environment.

Ngwala Inventions also builds and deploys digital and solar powered dispensers that automatically (re-)fill containers with the pesticide-fertiliser solution. The dispensers are placed directly on farms to ease access to local farmers. Mobile payments can be made by card directly at the dispenser, which also enables access to credit. The dispensers are also made available to other manufacturers of organic inputs. Ngwala Inventions’ collects a 10% commission per litre of organic pesticide and fertiliser from manufacturers who offer their products through their digital dispensing system.

Ngwala Inventions is pioneering both the production and distribution of farming inputs in Tanzania and the East African region.

Relationship with Smallholders

Since its establishment, Ngwala Inventions has worked with over 200,000 smallholder farmers, including youth and women, from Tanzania, Kenya and Rwanda. The digital and solar powered dispenser enables to deliver organic pesticide and fertiliser to smallholder farmers at the lowest cost and in a fast and reliable way.

Products and Markets

In June 2023, Ngwala Inventions is also launching its newly registered product called Vuna Fresh, a bio-insecticide to manage African bollworms on tomatoes and cotton crops.

All of Ngwala Inventions’ products, as well as other organic pesticides and fertiliser in liquid form, can be distributed with the company’s dispensing vending machines. These machines decentralise the distribution of organic pesticides and fertiliser on refilling bases substituting the use of chemicals packed in plastic containers. They allows farmers to purchase the exact quantities of pesticide and/or fertilizer they need for zero wastage.

The machine also pairs with a mobile app, with which farmers can track expenditures, quantities and the impact of applying organic pesticides and or fertilisers to their farm. With the app, farmers can also scan their crops and determine pest and diseases inflicted upon their crops. Additionally, it allows for soil analysis to determine the nutrient deficiencies in their soil so that farmers can make educated decisions on the dosage of fertiliser required.

The dispensing system is solar powered and includes a USB-port that enables farmers to charge their phone directly on the fields. Watch the demonstration of the Ngwala Smart Dispenser by clicking here.

Ngwala Inventions currently operates in East Africa, specifically Tanzania and Rwanda, with smallholder farmers (mostly aged 18-50 years) who live in rural areas and are growing vegetables and cereal crops.

Innovations: Milestones and Expansion Plans

Ngwala Inventions operates via a circularity approach to reduce the negative impacts of farming on the environment and on livelihoods. By valorising organic waste that would otherwise be discarded, the company enables the production of high quality farming inputs at a lower cost, thus enabling the sale of affordable products for smallholders. In fact, the product is directly sold to smallholder farmers for 7 USD per liter, which is 2 USD less than competitors.

By operating on an integrated value chain model, Ngwala Inventions is positioned to deploy their digital dispenser at a large scale to reach more smallholder farmers. Ngwala Inventions aims to reach 100 million smallholder farmers in Africa by 2025.

Success Factors and Lessons Learned

Ngwala Inventions enables smallholder farmers to increase their incomes by reducing their operating costs while increasing their production volumes. By selling their organic pesticide and fertiliser at a lower price than competitors, the company reduces crop production costs by 30%. At the same, the high quality and concentrated solution contributes to increasing yields from 1,5 to 3 tonnes per hectare.

The company has included its commitment to sustainability by protecting health and the environment in its business model. On the one hand, it offers a safe alternative to the use of chemical pesticides and fertilisers. On the other hand, it supports the transition to organic farming practices by making organic pesticide and fertiliser affordable, including for smallholder farmers with limited financial resources who can purchase these inputs on credit. This particularly empowers women and youth who face more difficulties in accessing financial resources. The company contributes to reducing plastic waste as farmers do not need to buy farming inputs in new containers but can refill their containers directly at the dispensers.

Moreover, by deploying dispensers in rural areas directly on farms, Ngwala Inventions reduces transportation costs and time spent by rural farmers to purchase these inputs at agro-shops. It is estimated that the dispensers allow to save nearly 150 USD in transportation costs and 120 hours of travel time spent by a farmer each season when purchasing farming inputs.
The USB port included in the dispensing system promotes further accessibility to resources in isolated rural areas by allows farmers to charge their mobile devices right on the farm.

The company has worked directly or indirectly with over 200,000 smallholder farmers and contributed to creating over 120 jobs.
Ngwala Inventions is currently partnering the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) to ensure that smallholder farmers in Tanzania are equipped with the knowledge on how to convert their organic waste into organic inputs, and the proper usage of the inputs to maximize yields. The company has also collaborated with other institutions such as the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) and the World Bank.

The impact of Ngwala Inventions on supporting biodiversity, food security, and the sustainability of smallholder farmer livelihoods have been acknowledged by several distinctions and prizes. Among other achievements, the company was a top 12 finalist in AgriHack 2021, and has received an award from the Tanzania Commission for Science and Technology (COSTECH). It was also one of the finalists accepted into the second cohort of the Conservation Finance Alliance (CFA) Incubator.

Additional Resources

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Business Categories:

Climate Resilience Smart Farming

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Recent Business Profiles

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm produces fresh vegetables in Zambia using agricultural techniques adapted to cimate change and combines productivity with biodiversity conservation. The company was presented in the...

read more
Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa supports local Zambian communities and the environment through agroprocessing and agroforestery by adding value to indigeneous fruit. They presented at Innovation Session n°14.

read more
Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens is a family run farm, specialising in the growing, packing and export of fresh herbs and vegetables. They presented at Innovation Session n°8.

read more
Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics is an aqua-tech company that leverages artificial intelligence to grow crustaceans in freshwater and ensures production all-year round, enabling a consistent supply of premium...

read more
AGROTECH

AGROTECH

AGROTECH is a women's cooperative specialising in the producing, processing and marketing of agricultural products. They presented at Innovation Session n°13.

read more

Gallery

Video Recording

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This