Fannie est titulaire d’un MBA de l’Institut de gestion de l’Afrique orientale et australe (Eastern and Southern Africa Institute of Management, ESAMI), en Tanzanie. Avant de créer Perisha Agro and Packing Enterprise (Perisha Agro), elle a travaillé pour plusieurs organisations, notamment de 2003 à 2014 pour le Centre mondial d’agroforesterie de la région d’Afrique australe (SADC-ICRAF) en tant que responsable régional des finances et de l’administration ; Family Health International (FHI) et le Programme national de lutte contre le sida – Unité de planification stratégique. Fannie a remporté plusieurs prix en tant qu’agripreneur, notammentles prix HIVOS Most Impactful Business et Graca Marcel Outstanding business, ainsi que celui de Women in Africa (WIA54) et Female Biosciences Business (FemBioBiz) Acceleration.

Fannie Perisha Gondwe

CEO, Perisha Agro and Packing Enterprise

Business Location: Likuni Lilongwe, Malawi

Statut de l’entreprise : Entreprise individuelle
Année de création : 2012
Number of Employees: 14 temps plein, 8 femmes et 6 hommes.
PDG : Fannie Perisha Gondwe

Mission : Améliorer la production agricole et la valeur ajoutée grâce à la culture et à la transformation de cultures nutritives.

Vision : Contribuer à la lutte contre la malnutrition au Malawi et dans toute l’Afrique, en particulier chez les femmes et les enfants de moins de cinq ans, grâce à des produits sains et nutritifs.

Modèle d’entreprise

On estime que 25 % de la population du Malawi est sous-alimentée, tandis que 50 % de la population du pays déclare avoir des difficultés à accéder à la nourriture. Le Malawi présente un taux plus élevé d’enfants de moins de 5 ans souffrant d’un retard de croissance que les autres pays de la région d’Afrique australe avec respectivement 37,1% et 29,3% (FAO (2017). Indicateurs de sécurité alimentaire). Dans ce contexte, Perisha Agro a été enregistrée en 2012 et a commencé ses opérations en 2015 en tant qu’entreprise agroalimentaire visant à lutter contre la malnutrition, la sous-alimentation et le retard de croissance au Malawi et dans toute l’Afrique.

L’entreprise a commencé par multiplier les semences de patate douce à chair orange (PDCO), une culture bio-fortifiée, riche en bêta-carotène et en vitamine A, qui tolère la sécheresse et pousse traditionnellement au Malawi. Depuis sa création, Perisha Agro a élargi son champ d’activités et propose aujourd’hui une large gamme de produits bio-fortifiés préparés à partir de matières premières riches en nutriments. Perisha Agro est une entreprise leader au Malawi dans la production de produits bio-fortifiés et hautement nutritifs à base de cultures locales.

Relations avec les petits exploitants

Perisha Agro travaille avec les agriculteurs locaux sur base contractuelle : l’entreprise fournit des intrants agricoles aux agriculteurs et, en retour, ceux-ci produisent des matières premières que Perisha Agro achète pour les transformer en produits à valeur ajoutée. Pour garantir une chaîne d’approvisionnement durable en matières premières, l’entreprise collabore avec des partenaires de développement et des banques. Cela permet à l’entreprise de soutenir ses agriculteurs via une assistance technique et le développement d’infrastructures. L’entreprise travaille également chaque année avec plus de 300 travailleurs saisonniers, dont 220 femmes et 80 hommes, et propose des stages pour former des jeunes professionnels.

Produits et marchés

Perisha Agro fabrique des produits alimentaires bio-fortifiés à partir de cultures locales, notamment la PDCO, le maïs orange et le haricot NUA. D’autres produits nutritifs sont fabriqués à partir de manioc, de soja et de riz. L’entreprise transforme ces cultures en divers produits, y compris en :

• Farine : Kodowole (farine de manioc de haute qualité), PDCO, maïs orange, haricot NUA, riz et soja
• Purée : haricot NUA
• Amidon : manioc
• Aliments pour volailles

Perisha Agro vend ses produits localement aux supermarchés et régionalement au Zimbabwe et en Afrique du Sud. L’entreprise vend également ses produits à des organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) et au gouvernement du Malawi, qui distribue les semences aux populations rurales afin d’améliorer leur alimentation. Perisha Agro est certifié par le Bureau des normes du Malawi.

Innovations : Étapes importantes et plans d’expansion

Perisha Agro intervient tout au long de la chaîne de valeur. Initialement, l’entreprise était uniquement spécialisée dans la production primaire, telles que les semences commerciales et la multiplication des vignes. En 2019, l’entreprise a intégré l’agro-transformation et la valeur ajoutée dans son modèle d’entreprise. Depuis lors, elle n’a cessé de travailler au développement de nouveaux produits nutritionnels et a commencé à produire en 2020 de la farine de PDCO bio-fortifiée et en 2022 de la purée de PDCO.

En termes d’impact sur le développement durable, Perisha Agro transforme les déchets issus des différents processus de production, notamment les pelures de PDCO et de manioc, pour produire des aliments pour volailles.

La taille du marché des produits bio-fortifiés en Afrique estimée à environ 60 millions de dollars. L’objectif de Perisha Agro est d’atteindre 2 % de part de marché d’ici 2027. Pour ce faire, l’entreprise travaille à la diversification de sa gamme de produits et à la distribution de ses produits sur les marchés régionaux et internationaux.

Facteurs de réussite et enseignements tirés

Perisha Agro contribue à la réalisation des objectifs de développement durable (ODD) des Nations unies, en particulier l’ODD 1 (Pas de pauvreté), l’ODD 2 (Faim « zéro »), l’ODD 3 (Bonne santé et bien-être) et l’ODD 5 (Egalité entre les sexes). Perisha Agro fait partie du Top 50 des héros africains de l’entreprise (African Business Heroes) dans le cadre du concours Jack Ma en 2022. Perisha Agro s’engage à lutter contre le retard de croissance au Malawi et, plus largement, en Afrique, notamment en collaborant avec le gouvernement malawite. Depuis sa création, elle a touché plus de 600 000 ménages et vise à augmenter le nombre de bénéficiaires à plus de 1 300 000 d’ici 2023. L’entreprise s’efforce de garantir l’égalité entre les sexes, notamment en offrant des possibilités d’emploi aux femmes dans des postes culturellement réservés aux hommes, tels que l’exploitation de machines et d’équipements, le transport et la logistique. Les femmes représentent 60 % du personnel de l’entreprise.

S’appuyant sur un modèle d’entreprise respectueux de l’environnement, l’entreprise encourage la culture et la consommation de racines et de tubercules locaux, tolérants à la sécheresse, tels que la PDCO et le manioc. Perisha Agro encourage également les cultures intercalaires avec des arbres agroforestiers, par exemple le maïs orange avec la tephrosia (arbres fertilisants) pour atténuer la dégradation et l’érosion des sols. Cela permet d’améliorer la fertilité des sols et, par conséquent, la productivité des cultures et les revenus générés par l’augmentation des volumes de production. L’entreprise encourage l’utilisation de systèmes d’irrigation solaire au goutte-à-goutte et contribue à l’économie circulaire en transformant ses produits secondaires (pelures de PDCO et de manioc) en aliments pour volailles.

L’avantage concurrentiel de Perisha Agro repose sur plusieurs facteurs, notamment le fait de disposer d’un personnel fiable, d’opérer dans sa propre usine de transformation avec ses propres équipements, d’avoir établi un réseau solide avec des gouvernements et des ONG et de centraliser ses activités dans la périphérie de la ville de Lilongwe. L’entreprise s’est engagée avec des partenaires locaux et mondiaux tout au long de la chaîne de valeur. Le développement de ses produits innovants a été soutenu par des partenariats clés avec diverses parties prenantes telles que l’unité des services de semences du département des services de recherche agricole du ministère de l’agriculture, de l’irrigation et du développement de l’eau (MAIWD) ; International Potato Centre (CIP) ; l’association nationale de la patate douce à chair orange (National Orange Fleshed Sweet Potato Association, NPDCOA) ; l’association nationale de transformation du manioc (National Cassava Processing Association, NCPA) ; et le Réseau d’entreprises pour le renforcement de la nutrition (Scaling-Up Nutrition (SUN) Business Network) de l’Alliance mondiale pour l’amélioration de la nutrition (GAIN) et du Programme alimentaire mondial (PAM) ; Harvest Plus ; CIAT ; Feed the Future ; GIZ ; des universités et des instituts de recherche.

Perisha Agro a développé son réseau en participant à des foires, formations, incubateurs et accélérateurs d’entreprise, ainsi que des concours et programmes de mentorat. L’entreprise travaille avec des organisations qui soutiennent financièrement le développement des infrastructures, notamment le Programme des Nations unies pour le développement (PNUD), l’Initiative pour la transformation de l’agriculture (Agricultural Transformation Initiative, ATI) et la KfW (Banque allemande de développement). Communiquer avec des partenaires, y compris des investisseurs et des banques, requière des compétences en matière de développement d’entreprise, avec un plan de croissance et des objectifs spécifiques, ainsi qu’en présentation et en argumentation. Fannie a obtenu trois subventions équivalentes en participant à des concours de présentation à des investisseurs et a également obtenu des prêts bancaires pour son entreprise.

Additional Resources

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Recent Business Profiles

BioLife Tech

BioLife Tech

BioLife Tech offre des solutions numériques qui connectent les producteurs d'ananas au Bénin avec les transformateurs locaux, les exportateurs et les commerçants, et permettent un suivi technique....

lire plus
Lovegrass Ltd.

Lovegrass Ltd.

Lovegrass LTD est une entreprise qui fabrique des produits à base de teff. L'entreprise a été présentée pendant laSession Innovation n°16.

lire plus
Inter-Connect Point LTD

Inter-Connect Point LTD

Inter-Connect Point est une entreprise d'agritech qui a créé une solution technologique pour améliorer la production de thé. Ils ont fait une présentation lors de la session d'innovation n°15.

lire plus
Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm

La ferme Panuka produit des légumes frais en Zambie en utilisant des techniques agricoles adaptées au changement climatique et en combinant productivité et conservation de la biodiversité....

lire plus
Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa soutient les communautés locales zambiennes et l'environnement via la transformation agroalimentaire et l'agroforesterie en ajoutant de la valeur aux fruits indigènes. Ils ont fait une...

lire plus

Gallery

Video Recording

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Fannie holds a MBA from Eastern and Southern Africa Institute of Management (ESAMI), Tanzania. Prior to creating Perisha Agro and Packing Enterprise (Perisha Agro), she has worked with several organisations, including from 2003 to 2014 with World Agroforestry Centre Southern Africa Region (SADC-ICRAF) as the Regional Finance and Administration Manager; Family Health International (FHI) and National AIDS Control Program – Strategic Planning Unit. Fannie has won several awards as an agripreneur, including HIVOS Most Impactful Business, Graca Marcel Outstanding business, a Laureate of Women in Africa (WIA54) and the Female Biosciences Business Acceleration award.

Fannie Perisha Gondwe

CEO, Perisha Agro and Packing Enterprise

Business Location: Likuni Lilongwe, Malawi

Type: Sole Proprietorship
Year of Founding: 2012
Number of Employees: 14 full-time; 8 women and 6 men
CEO: Fannie Perisha Gondwe

Mission: To enhance agriculture production and value addition through growing and processing of nutritious crops

Vision: To help in fighting malnutrition in Malawi and across Africa especially amongst women and children under 5 through healthy, nutritious produce and products

Business Model

It is estimated that 25% of Malawi’s population is undernourished, while 50% of the country’s population reports facing difficulties to access food. Malawi has a higher rate of stunted children under 5 years compared to other countries in the Southern Africa region with 37.1% and 29.3% respectively (FAO (2017). Food Security Indicators). Against this background, Perisha Agro was registered in 2012 and started its operations in 2015 as an agri-business enterprise aiming at fighting malnutrition, undernourishment and stunting in Malawi and throughout Africa.

The company started with seed multiplication of Orange Fleshed Sweet Potato (OFSP), a bio-fortified crop, rich in beta-carotene and vitamin A that is drought-tolerant and traditionally grows in Malawi. Since its creation, Perisha Agro has broadened its scope of activities that nowadays includes processing a wide range of biofortified crops into nutrient-rich products. Perisha Agro is a leading company in Malawi in producing biofortified and highly nutritious products made from local crops.

Relationship with Smallholders

Perisha Agro works with local farmers through contract farming: the company distributes agricultural inputs to the farmers, and in return, they produce raw materials that Perisha Agro purchases to process into value added products. To ensure a sustainable supply chain of raw materials, the company works with development partners and banks to support its farmers with technical assistance and infrastructure development. The company also works with over 300 seasonal workers each year, of whom 220 are women and 80 are men, and offers internship positions to train young professionals.

Products and Markets

Perisha Agro produces bio-fortified food products from locally produced crops, including OFSP, orange maize and NUA-bean. Some of their other nutritious products are made with cassava, soya and rice. The company transforms these crops into various products, such as:

• Flour: Kodowole (High Quality Cassava Flour, HQCF), OFSP, orange maize, NUA-bean, rice and soya
• Puree: OFSP
• Starch: cassava
• Poultry feed

Perisha Agro sells its products locally to supermarkets, and regionally to markets in Zimbabwe and South Africa. The company also sells to non-governmental organisations (NGOs) and the Malawian government that distributes the seeds to rural populations to support nutritional improvement. Perisha Agro is certified by the Malawi Bureau of Standards.

Innovations: Milestones and Expansion Plans

Perisha Agro has evolved into a vertical value chain enterprise. It began as a horticulture farm specialising on primary production, notably commercial seed and vine multiplication. By 2019, the company included agro-processing and value addition as part of its business model. Since then, it has continuously worked on developing new nutritional products and started to produce in 2020 bio-fortified OFSP flour and in 2022 OFSP puree.

In terms of its sustainability impact, Perisha Agro has innovated to transform the waste produced by its production processes, notably OSFP and cassava peels, to create a formula for poultry feed.

Considering an estimated market size for bio-fortified products in Africa of about $60 million, Perisha Agro’s goal is to reach 2% of the market share by 2027. To do so, the company is working to diversify its product range and to distribute its products on regional and international markets.

Success Factors and Lessons Learned

Perisha Agro contributes to achieving the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), specifically to SDG 1 (no poverty); SDG 2 (zero hunger); SDG 3 (health and well-being) and SDG 5 (gender equality). Perisha Agro is among the 2022 Top 50 African Business Heroes under Jack Ma ABH competition. Perisha Agro is committed to fighting stunting in Malawi and, more largely, in Africa, including through working with the Malawian Government. Since its creation, it has reached over 600,000 households and is aiming at increasing the number of beneficiaries to over 1,300 000 by 2023. The company strives to ensure gender equality, including by offering job opportunities to women in positions that are culturally reserved for men, such as machine and equipment operations, driving and logistics. Women comprises of 60% of the company’s staff.

Based on an environmentally friendly business model, the company promotes the growing and consumption of local, drought tolerant roots and tubers crops such as OFSP and cassava. Perisha Agro also encourages the intercropping of crops with agroforestry trees, for example, orange maize with tephrosia (fertilizer trees) to mitigate land degradation and soil erosion. This improves soil fertility and consequently the crop productivity and income generated by the increased production volumes. The company further advances the use of solar drip irrigation systems and contributes to circular economy by processing its side-products (OFSP and cassava peels and waste) into poultry feed.

The competitive advantage of Perisha Agro comprises of several factors that include having reliable staff members; operating in its own processing factory with its own equipment; having established strong network with governments and NGOs and the central localisation of its business in the outskirts of Lilongwe city. The company engaged with local and global partners all along the value chain. Its innovative product development has been supported by key partnerships with various stakeholders such as the Seed Services Unit under the Department of Agricultural Research Services in the Ministry of Agriculture, Irrigation and Water Development (MAIWD); the International Potato Centre (CIP); the National Orange Fleshed Sweet Potato Association (NOFSPA); the National Cassava Processing Association (NCPA); and the Scaling-Up Nutrition (SUN) Business Network which is co-convened by the Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition (GAIN) and World Food Program (WFP); Harvest Plus; CIAT; Feed the Future; GIZ; Academia and Research Institutions.

Perisha Agro has further develop its network through fellowships, trainings, accelerator, competitions and mentorship programmes. The company works with organisations that provide financial support for infrastructure development, including the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), the Agricultural Transformation Initiative (ATI) and KfW (German Development Bank). Skills in business development with a growth plan and specific targets, as well as in presentation and pitching are key to communicate with partners, including investors and banks. Fannie has won 3 matching grants through investor pitch competitions and also secured bank loans for her business.

Additional Resources

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Recent Business Profiles

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm produces fresh vegetables in Zambia using agricultural techniques adapted to cimate change and combines productivity with biodiversity conservation. The company was presented in the...

read more
Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa supports local Zambian communities and the environment through agroprocessing and agroforestery by adding value to indigeneous fruit. They presented at Innovation Session n°14.

read more
Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens is a family run farm, specialising in the growing, packing and export of fresh herbs and vegetables. They presented at Innovation Session n°8.

read more
Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions is a bio-tech and agri-tech company using organic wastes such as garbage, fruit peels and animal urine mixed with botanical extracts to form two-in-one organic pesticides and...

read more
Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics is an aqua-tech company that leverages artificial intelligence to grow crustaceans in freshwater and ensures production all-year round, enabling a consistent supply of premium...

read more

Gallery

Video Recording

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This