Classé par le magazine Forbes parmi les « 30 meilleurs entrepreneurs de moins de 30 ans en Afrique » et lauréat de plusieurs prix, Eric est un jeune entrepreneur kenyan qui a fondé Stawi Foods and Fruits, une entreprise de transformation alimentaire qui transforme des fruits secs et des céréales en aliments nutritifs pour les familles kenyanes. La mission d’Eric est d’adopter une approche entrepreneuriale pour transformer les économies locales et résoudre les problèmes urgents du Kenya de manière durable. L’entreprise cherche à offrir de véritables avantages aux petits exploitants agricoles qui ont besoin de marchés durables pour leurs produits. Eric est titulaire d’un MBA, d’une licence en droit, d’une formation en direction administrative dans le domaine de la sécurité alimentaire en Afrique et de diplômes en entrepreneuriat rural et en commerce durable/responsable. Eric a été présenté dans l’émission African Start-up de CNN, et a reçu plusieurs prix et la reconnaissance du président Obama en tant que YALI Fellow.

Eric Muthoni

CEO, Stawi Foods & Fruits

Business Location: Kenya

Statut de la société : Société à responsabilité limitée
Année de création : 2012
Nombre d’employés : 11
PDG: Eric Muthomi

Modèle d’entreprise

Stawi signifie prospérité en swahili. Stawi Foods vise à générer la prospérité au Kenya pour toutes les parties prenantes de la chaîne d’approvisionnement de l’industrie alimentaire. Ses objectifs sont les suivants :

  • Soutenir le développement économique et social des jeunes et des femmes grâce à un modèle d’entreprise intégrant la dimension de genre.
    • Soutenir le développement économique et social des jeunes et des femmes grâce à un modèle d’entreprise intégrant la dimension de genre.
    • Réseaux de distribution des produits Stawi par des femmes, soutenu par la technologie.
  • Aider les agriculteurs fournisseurs à accéder au marché et à produire des aliments de manière durable:
    • Amélioration des variétés de semences,
    • Formation aux bonnes pratiques agricoles, à l’agriculture intelligente face au changement climatique, à la nutrition,
    • Extension et soutien post-récolte
    • Traçabilité
  • Fournir un accès à des aliments nutritifs à un prix abordable en achetant et transformant des produits nutritifs accessibles aux familles kenyanes à faibles revenus.
    • Les produits Stawi sont (bio-)enrichis en minéraux et vitamines, ce qui est particulièrement bénéfique pour les femmes et les enfants. Ils ont des emballages abordables et des prix accessibles.

Des relations solides avec les petits exploitants

Stawi Foods promeut un modèle d’entreprise intégrant la dimension de genre et soutient les petits exploitants kenyans par le biais de formations aux bonnes pratiques agricoles, à l’agriculture intelligente face au changement climatique, à la nutrition et à la traçabilité, ainsi que par la vulgarisation et le soutien post-récolte. Stawi Foods fournit aux agriculteurs des déshydrateurs de fruits solaires pour ajouter de la valeur aux produits frais périssables et prévenir les pertes.

Stawi Foods travaille avec environ 5 000 petits exploitants kenyans organisés dans des groupes d’environ 30 membres, dont 80 % sont des femmes et 30 % des jeunes. En moyenne, les agriculteurs sont âgés de 40 ans et exploitent 5 000 acres de terre.

Produits couverts et marchés

Stawi Foods possède sept chaînes de valeur au Kenya, toutes axées sur des aliments nutritifs cultivés localement (banane, amarante, maïs, millet, sorgho rouge, soja et blé). L’entreprise a commencé par transformer de la farine de banane sans gluten, puis a étendu ses activités aux farines de porridge à base de céréales anciennes. La gamme de produits de Stawi Foods comprend des farines de porridge précuites et nutritives à base de céréales anciennes mélangées à des bananes. En 2015, elle a développé la farine de banane sans gluten avec le soutien de l’Institut de recherche et de développement industriel du Kenya (KIRDI), du projet de compétitivité horticole du Kenya financé par l’USAID, de groupes d’agriculteurs du comté de Meru et d’un investissement de Golden Palm Investment Corporation (GPIC).

Stawi Foods distribue essentiellement ses produits transformés sur le marché local à des familles kenyanes à faibles revenus. Elle a également un contrat de fabrication avec des organisations non gouvernementales au Kenya pour fournir des aliments nutritifs lorsque l’accès à la nourriture est très limité.

Innovations : Étapes importantes et plans d’expansion

Stawi Foods est une entreprise durable qui tire profit de l’augmentation des ventes, de la croissance interne et du financement (prêts). L’entreprise étend la participation des femmes à son modèle commercial car elles deviennent distributeurs des produits Stawi Foods au sein de leurs communautés.

En donnant accès à des technologies post-récolte génératrices de revenus (séchoirs solaires, batteuses mécaniques, bâches), les revenus des cultivateurs de bananes ont augmenté de 50 %. Depuis 2019, Stawi Foods a contracté davantage de cultivateurs de bananes et développe son activité du sorgho rouge en souhaitant contracter 5 000 agriculteurs supplémentaires dans les zones arides et en les formant à l’agriculture intelligente face au changement climatique.

À moyen terme, Stawi Foods vise à étendre ses activités commerciales dans au moins quatre autres pays africains (dont le Ghana, le Malawi, l’Ouganda et le Nigeria).

Le plus grand défi de Stawi est d’obtenir la certification de l’Initiative mondiale pour la sécurité alimentaire (GFSI) pour lui permettre d’accéder aux marchés d’exportation à forte valeur ajoutée.

Additional Resources

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Recent Business Profiles

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm

La ferme Panuka produit des légumes frais en Zambie en utilisant des techniques agricoles adaptées au changement climatique et en combinant productivité et conservation de la biodiversité....

lire plus
Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa soutient les communautés locales zambiennes et l'environnement via la transformation agroalimentaire et l'agroforesterie en ajoutant de la valeur aux fruits indigènes. Ils ont fait une...

lire plus
Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens est une exploitation agricole familiale spécialisée dans la culture, l'emballage et l'exportation d'herbes et de légumes frais. Ils ont fait une présentation lors de la session...

lire plus
Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions est une entreprise de biotechnologie et d'agrotechnologie qui utilise des déchets organiques tels que des ordures, des pelures de fruits et de l'urine d'animaux mélangés à des...

lire plus
Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics est une entreprise d'aqua-technologie qui s'appuie sur l'intelligence artificielle pour cultiver des crustacés en eau douce et garantir une production tout au long de l'année, ce...

lire plus

Gallery

Video Recording

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Ranked by Forbes Magazine among the “top 30 entrepreneurs under 30 years in Africa” and multi-award winner, Eric is a young Kenyan entrepreneur who founded Stawi Foods and Fruits, a food processing company that processes dried fruits and grains into nutritious foods for Kenyan families. Eric’s mission is to take an entrepreneurial approach to transform local economies and solve Kenya’s pressing problems in a sustainable way. The company is making efforts to provide genuine benefits to smallholder farmers who need sustainable markets for their produce. Eric’s holds an MBA, Bachelor’s Degree in Law, Executive Leadership in Africa’s Food Security, and Diplomas in Rural Entrepreneurship and Sustainability/responsible business. Eric has been featured on CNN’s African Start-up programme, and has received several awards and recognition by President Obama as a YALI Fellow

Eric Muthoni

CEO, Stawi Foods & Fruits

Business Location: Kenya

Type: Limited Liability Company
Year of Founding: 2012
Number of Employees: 11
CEO: Eric Muthomi

Business model

Stawi means prosperity in Swahili. Stawi Foods aims at generating prosperity in Kenya for all stakeholders in the food industry supply chain. It aims at:

  • Supporting the economic and social development of youth and women with a gender inclusive business model
    • Through affirmative action, the company has 80% women and 30% young people in its supply chain
    • A reseller model of women distributing Stawi’s finished products, backed by technology
  • Supporting its supplier farmers to access the market and produce food sustainably with:
    • improved seed varieties
    • training in good agricultural practices, climate-smart agriculture, nutrition
    • extension and post-harvest support
    • traceability
  • Providing access to affordable nutritious food by buying and processing produce into nutritious products accessible to low-income Kenyan families
    • Stawi products are (bio-)fortified with minerals and vitamins, which are especially beneficial to women and children. They have affordable packaging accessible prices

Strong relationships with smallholders

Stawi Foods promotes a gender-inclusive business model and supports Kenyan smallholder farmers through training in good agricultural practices, climate-smart agriculture, nutrition and traceability, as well as extension and post-harvest support. Stawi Foods provides farmers with solar fruit dehydrators to add value to the perishable fresh products and prevent losses.

Stawi Foods works with about 5,000 Kenyan smallholder farmers mobilised in groups of around 30 members, with 80% women and 30% youth. On average, farmers are aged 40 years and farm on 5000 acres of land.

Products covered and markets

Stawi Foods’ has seven value chains in Kenya, all focusing on nutritious, locally grown foods (banana, amaranth, maize, finger millet, red sorghum, soy and wheat). The company began with processing gluten-free banana flour and expanded its business to porridge flours made from ancient grains. Stawi Foods’ product range comprises pre-cooked, nutritious porridge flour made from ancient grains blended with bananas. In 2015, it developed gluten-free banana with support from the Kenya Industrial Research and Development Institute (KIRDI), the USAID-funded Kenya Horticulture Competitiveness Project, farmer groups in Meru County, and investment from Golden Palm Investment Corporation (GPIC).

Stawi Foods essentially distributes its processed products in the local market to low-income Kenyan families. It also has a manufacturing contract with non-governmental organisations in Kenya to supply nutritious food when access to food is very limited.

Innovations: Milestones and expansion plans

Stawi Foods is a sustainable business which makes profit from increased sales, internal growth and finance (loans). The company is extending the participation of women in its business model: they are becoming distributors of Stawi Foods products within their communities.

By providing access to income generating post-harvest technology (solar dryers, mechanical threshers, tarpaulins), the banana farmers’ income increased by 50 %. Since 2019, Stawi Foods contracted more banana farmers and is scaling the model to red sorghum by contracting 5,000 farmers in dryland areas and training them in Climate Smart Agriculture.

In the medium-term, Stawi Foods aims at expanding its business operations in at least four other African countries (incl. Ghana, Malawi, Uganda and Nigeria).

Stawi’s biggest challenge is in acquiring Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) certification to enable it access to high value export markets.

Additional Resources

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Recent Business Profiles

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm produces fresh vegetables in Zambia using agricultural techniques adapted to cimate change and combines productivity with biodiversity conservation. The company was presented in the...

read more
Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa supports local Zambian communities and the environment through agroprocessing and agroforestery by adding value to indigeneous fruit. They presented at Innovation Session n°14.

read more
Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens is a family run farm, specialising in the growing, packing and export of fresh herbs and vegetables. They presented at Innovation Session n°8.

read more
Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions is a bio-tech and agri-tech company using organic wastes such as garbage, fruit peels and animal urine mixed with botanical extracts to form two-in-one organic pesticides and...

read more
Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics is an aqua-tech company that leverages artificial intelligence to grow crustaceans in freshwater and ensures production all-year round, enabling a consistent supply of premium...

read more

Gallery

Video Recording

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This