Session Innovations N°1

Programme de la session
Biographies des intervenants

19/11/2020

Augmentation des opportunités de marché grâce à des produits à valeur ajoutée et de marque

Le secteur privé est essentiel pour l’avenir des systèmes alimentaires

Malgré de nombreux défis, les petits agriculteurs et les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) ont des opportunités sans précédent d’approvisionner les marchés locaux, régionaux et d’exportation. L’innovation est une force motrice dans la transformation des systèmes alimentaires, la promotion d’une agriculture durable et la mobilisation des investissements.
Le secteur privé a un rôle clé à jouer dans l’élaboration de systèmes alimentaires plus durables, inclusifs et rentables, motivés par l’innovation, la cocréation de connaissances et le soutien à une transition verte. Dans le contexte de la mise en œuvre de l’Accord de libre-échange continental africain (ZLECAf) et des marchés africains en plein essor, de nombreuses opportunités commerciales existent et augmenteront aux niveaux locaux, régionaux et continental. Ces opportunités devront être saisies par le secteur privé local pour augmenter l’emploi, en particulier pour les jeunes et les femmes. Il sera important d’identifier les facteurs de réussite des agriculteurs et des PME, qui pourraient aider d’autres personnes à démarrer ou à consolider leur entreprise.
Dans ce contexte, et conscients des nombreux défis à relever pour faire évoluer les entreprises prospères existantes, nous souhaitons aider les organisations d’agriculteurs, les coopératives et les PME à être mieux adaptées aux nouveaux marchés et à établir des partenariats clés pour remédier aux faiblesses de certaines parties de la chaîne de valeur. Le PAFO et le COLEACP lancent une série de sessions sur les innovations et les réussites des entreprises et PME africaines dirigées par des agriculteurs, qui partageront les meilleures pratiques des entrepreneurs, des agriculteurs et des agripreneurs à travers le monde, en mettant l’accent sur les innovations dans les méthodes de production, le développement des marchés, les solutions numériques, les technologies et l’économie circulaire. Ils présenteront également des points de vue sur la politique de soutien, la recherche, le financement et l’environnement d’investissement.
PAFO et COLEACP organiseront une série de sessions de 2 heures, tous les 2 mois, visant à :

  • Accroître la sensibilisation et l’utilisation des innovations existantes, menées par les organisations d’agriculteurs et les PME à travers les chaînes de valeur
  • Mettre en évidence les technologies et pratiques innovantes à venir présentant un potentiel pour les organisations d’agriculteurs et les PME
  • Échanger les meilleures pratiques et les réussites entre les régions du continent et avec l’UE
  • Fournir des services de soutien sur mesure (formation, assistance technique, services de vulgarisation, accès au financement)

Cette première session se concentrera sur les innovations qui apportent de la valeur ajoutée et développeront des produits plus sophistiqués pour les marchés locaux et régionaux.

Points clés de discussion

  • Quels sont les principaux moteurs pour capter plus de valeur ajoutée pour les entreprises africaines : technologie, finance, savoir-faire, relations commerciales ? Le Covid-19 a-t-il accéléré l’adoption des innovations ?
  • La valeur ajoutée et l’image de marque sont essentielles sur des marchés très concurrentiels. Quelles compétences les entrepreneurs du développement doivent- ils acquérir pour atteindre des marchés sophistiqués à valeur ajoutée ?
  • Quels sont les domaines les plus urgents qui nécessitent l’attention et l’action des décideurs et des investisseurs pour soutenir l’entrepreneuriat et l’emploi en Afrique ?
  • Les entrepreneurs voient-ils des opportunités dans la mise en œuvre de la ZLECAf ? Quelles sont les conditions de réplicabilité et de mise à l’échelle ?

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Rencontrez les intervenants
Voir l'enregistrement de la session
En anglais

En français

Présentations

Recent Innovations Sessions

Session Innovations N°16

Session Innovations N°16

Les marchés de niche offrent des opportunités commerciales pour les agriculteurs qui produisent des denrées différents des produits mondiaux et se concentrent sur un segment spécifique de clients...

lire plus

0 commentaires

Soumettre un commentaire

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Innovations Session N°1

Session programme
Speakers' biodata

19/11/2020

Increased market opportunities through added-value and branded products

The private sector and innovative businesses are key to the future of food systems

Despite numerous challenges, smallholder farmers and small and medium enterprises (SMEs) have unprecedented opportunities to supply local, regional and export markets. Innovation is a driving force in transforming food systems, promoting sustainable agriculture and leveraging investment.
The private sector has a key role to play in shaping more sustainable, inclusive and profitable food systems, driven by innovation, knowledge co-creation, and support for a green transition. In the context of implementation of the African Continental Free Trade Agreement (AfCFTA), and of booming African markets, many trade opportunities exist and will increase at local, regional and continental levels. These opportunities will have to be captured by the local private sector to increase employment, especially for youth and women. It will be important to identify the drivers of success for farmers and SMEs, which could help others to start or consolidate their businesses.
With this background, and aware of the many challenges in getting existing successful businesses to scale, COLEACP and PAFO collaborate to support farmers’ organisations, cooperatives and SMEs to seize opportunities in new markets and to establish key partnerships to strengthen their competitiveness. PAFO and COLEACP are launching a series of sessions on Innovations and successes of African farmer-led businesses and SMEs which will share best practices from entrepreneurs, farmers and agripreneurs across the world, with a focus on innovations in production methods, markets development, digital solutions, technologies and circular economy. They will also feature views on the supporting policy, research, finance and investment environment.
PAFO and COLEACP will hold a series of 2-hour sessions, every 2 months, aiming to:

  • Increase awareness and use of existing innovations, led by farmers’ organisations and SMEs across value chains
  • Highlight forthcoming innovative technologies and practices with potential for farmers’ organisations and SMEs
  • Exchange best practices and successes across regions in the continent and with the EU
  • Provide tailored support services (training, technical assistance, extension services, access to finance and documented case studies).

This first session will focus on successes and innovations that supply added-value and develop more sophisticated products for local and regional markets.

Key points for discussion

  • What are the key drivers to capture more added-value for African businesses: technology, finance, know-how, business relations? Has Covid-19 accelerated adoption of innovations?
  • Value-addition and branding are key in very competitive markets. What skills do development entrepreneurs need to acquire and upgrade to reach more sophisticated high-value markets?
  • What are the most urgent areas in value-addition and processing which need policy-makers and investors attention and action to support entrepreneurship and employment in Africa?
  • Do the entrepreneurs see opportunities in the implementation of the AfCFTA to expand processing facilities and trade within the continent?

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Meet the speakers
View session recording
In English

In French

Presentations

Recent Innovations Sessions

Innovations Session N°16

Innovations Session N°16

Niche markets offer business opportunities for farmers who produce commodities different from global products and focus on a specific segment of customers who are willing to pay a premium price for...

read more

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This