Jane Maigua est une entrepreneuse kenyane primée et la Directrice Générale d’Exotic EPZ Limited. Jane a une longue carrière dans le développement d’entreprise et l’entrepreneuriat. Elle a notamment travaillé pendant plus de 20 ans avec diverses ONG internationales et locales, ainsi que pour les Nations Unies.

Fille de petits exploitants agricoles, Jane a grandi en voyant les défis auxquels ses parents devaient faire face. Passionnée par l’agro-industrie et l’exportation, Jane a pour objectif d’autonomiser les femmes et les jeunes en créant des emplois et en générant des revenus plus élevés pour les petits exploitants et tous les acteurs de la chaîne de valeur des noix de macadamia.

Jane est titulaire d’une licence en technologie (Appropriate Technology) de l’Université Kenyatta, au Kenya, et d’une maîtrise en encadrement, commerce et entrepreneuriat de Université chrétienne panafricaine (Pan Africa Christian University, PAC), au Kenya.

Jane a été récompensée pour son engagement et impact en recevant le prix 2018 du Forum des Femmes Africaines pour l’Innovation et l’Entrepreneuriat (Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum, AWIEF) dans la catégorie entrepreneur agricole.

Jane Maigua

CEO, Exotic EPZ Limited

Business Location: Nairobi, Kenya

Statut de la société : Société à responsabilité limitée
Année de création : 2012
Nombre d’employés : 163, dont 85% de femmes et 75% de jeunes
Management : Directrice des opérations ; Loise Maina – Directrice des relations extérieures ; Jane Maigua – Directrice générale

Mission : fournir durablement et mondialement des produits de qualité pour une vie saine et heureuse afin d’autonomiser ses producteurs et ses employés, ainsi que de promouvoir le développement et le potentiel socio-économique du Kenya à l’échelle mondiale.

Modèle d’entreprise

La noix de macadamia est une noix ronde et blanche qui pousse sur un arbre tropical et qui contient une grande quantité d’acides gras monoinsaturés et d’oméga 3 et 6. Les variétés Macadamia Integrifolia et Macadamia Tetraphylla poussent au Kenya.

En 2012, Jane Maigua, Charity Ndegwa et Loise Maina ont créé Nawiri Agribusiness EPZ, une entreprise d’agro-transformation et d’exportation de noix de macadamia. Les noix de macadamia sont abondantes au Kenya et très demandées par les industries alimentaires et cosmétiques. De plus, les trois amies avaient une grande expérience de l’entrepreneuriat et de l’agrobusiness, notamment dans le cadre de programmes d’autonomisation économique des femmes. Elles souhaitaient s’attaquer aux problèmes sur le long terme auxquels sont confrontés les petits exploitants kenyans, notamment le manque d’accès au marché et les prix bas.

En 2016, Nawiri Agribusiness EPZ Ltd a acquis Exotic EPZ Limited, une autre entreprise agroalimentaire de noix de macadamia, afin de soutenir davantage le développement des communautés locales et de créer une chaîne de valeur agroalimentaire durable et inclusive, en mettant l’accent sur les femmes et les jeunes.

Exotic EPZ Limited est impliqué dans l’ensemble de la chaîne de valeur de la noix de macadamia et travaille en étroite collaboration avec les producteurs et les communautés locales dans diverses régions du Kenya.

Depuis sa création, Exotic EPZ Limited est devenu un acteur connu du secteur des noix de macadamia au Kenya, et est la première entreprise agroalimentaire des noix de macadamia dirigée par des femmes dans le pays.

Des relations solides avec les petits exploitants

L’entreprise a un important engagement social et économique et assure des revenus stables à ses fournisseurs. Elle achète des noix de macadamia aux producteurs kenyans à un prix équitable, en utilisant une plateforme mobile pour sécuriser ses paiements.

Exotic EPZ Limited soutient ses producteurs en leur facilitant l’accès aux plants et leur propose de suivre des formations sur des thèmes variés comme l’entretien des sols, la gestion des déchets ou la lutte contre les parasites et les maladies. L’entreprise a également créé de nombreux centres de collecte de noix de macadamia afin de raccourcir et de faciliter le processus de livraison des noix brutes.

Exotic EPZ Limited travaille en étroite collaboration avec 7 000 agriculteurs de 10 régions différentes de production de noix de macadamia au Kenya. 2 000 de ces producteurs approvisionnent directement l’entreprise. Une équipe d’environ 10 agents se rend dans différentes régions et est en relation avec les 5 000 autres producteurs pour acheter leur production.

Produits et marchés

Exotic EPZ Limited transforme les noix de macadamia en différentes tailles et les propose entières, en moitié ou concassées :

Entières
• Style 0 : plus grandes que 19mm, avec au moins 95% de noix entières
• Style 1L : plus grandes que 16mm, avec au moins 90% de noix entières
• Style 1S : 14-16mm, avec au moins 90% de noix entières

Moitié
• Style 4L : moitié de noix de 14-16mm
• Style 4S : 9-14mm, avec 80% de moitié de noix et 20% de noix entières

Concassées
• Style 5 : morceaux de 7-9mm
• Style 6 : noix concassées et morceaux de 5-7mm
• Style 7 : noix concassées de 3-5mm

Les noix de macadamia sont emballées sous vide dans des sachets de 25 livres (11,34 kg) en aluminium pour un usage alimentaire puis dans des cartons, préservant ainsi la qualité des noix.

Les noix de macadamia transformées sont principalement exportées vers le marché international : vers les États-Unis d’Amérique, l’Union européenne (en particulier l’Espagne et les Pays-Bas) et l’Asie.

Exotic EPZ Limited achète et collecte des noix de macadamia brutes, les traite, les conditionne et les distribue.

Exotic EPZ Limited s’engage à garantir des procédures de production et des produits de haute qualité. Sa conformité aux normes internationales de haute qualité est garantie par ses certifications FSSC 22000 et ISO 9001:2015. L’entreprise travaille également à obtenir les certifications biologique et commerce équitable d’ici 2022.

Innovations : Étapes importantes et plans d’expansion

En avril 2020, Kenya Climate Venture (KCV), une société de gestion de placements, a investi dans Exotic EPZ Limited pour soutenir sa stratégie d’expansion.

Dans le contexte de la pandémie de COVID-19 et de la décision de l’entreprise de réduire ses coûts opérationnels et donc les prix de ses produits, Exotic EPZ Limited a installé des panneaux solaires d’une capacité de production de 47,5 kWh sur son usine de transformation en 2021. L’entreprise utilise également les coques de noix de macadamia pour produire du biogaz comme source d’énergie supplémentaire. Ces deux sources d’énergie renouvelable couvrent environ 20% des besoins en électricité de l’entreprise.

L’entreprise vise à développer ses activités en diversifiant sa production et en approvisionnant de nouveaux marchés tels que l’Afrique, d’autres pays européens (par exemple la Belgique et l’Allemagne), les Émirats Arabes Unis, le Canada et le Japon. L’entreprise prévoit de produire des noix de macadamia torréfiées et aromatisées destinées principalement à être vendues sur le marché local, ainsi que de produire des huiles de noix de macadamia et d’autres types d’huiles spéciales. Cette diversification des produits nécessite d’augmenter la capacité de production et donc de construire une nouvelle installation.

En outre, Exotic EPZ Limited prévoit d’étendre son réseau de producteurs à plus de 10 000 agriculteurs et de les aider à agrandir leurs vergers pour produire davantage. L’entreprise encourage également la plantation d’un plus grand nombre de macadamia (arbres) afin d’augmenter son approvisionnement et de réduire le niveau de CO2. Dans un premier temps, elle planifie de planter 187 500 macadamia.

Enfin, Exotic EPZ Limited prévoit de construire une ferme de démonstration où les agriculteurs pourront suivre des sessions de formation sur plusieurs aspects de la production de noix de macadamia, contribuant ainsi davantage au renforcement des capacités.

Facteurs de succès et enseignements tirés

Exotic EPZ Limited garantie une sécurité sanitaire élevée dans ses opérations et transforme des produits de haute qualité. Afin de maintenir le niveau de qualité – et de l’améliorer en permanence -, l’entreprise propose aux producteurs de noix de macadamia des formations et des séances de sensibilisation allant de la lutte contre les parasites à la gestion des cultures et à la gestion post-récolte des produits. Elle organise également des formations pour ses employés dans des domaines tels que l’encadrement, la sécurité alimentaire ou la gestion de la qualité, la gestion environnementale et la sécurité et la santé au travail. L’entreprise propose également un système d’épargne et de crédit à son personnel.

En tant qu’entreprise sociale favorisant l’inclusion et la production responsable, Exotic EPZ Limited contribue à la réalisation des Objectifs de Développement Durable (ODD) suivants :
• ODD 1 PAS DE PAUVRETE – en fournissant aux producteurs de noix un accès durable au marché,
• ODD 5 ÉGALITÉ ENTRE LES SEXES – en incluant (davantage) de(s) femmes dans la chaîne de valeur,
• ODD 8 TRAVAIL DÉCENT ET CROISSANCE ÉCONOMIQUE – en créant des centaines d’emplois décents et en garantissant un salaire égal pour un travail de valeur égale,
• ODD 12 CONSOMMATION ET PRODUCTION DURABLES – en réduisant les déchets, en recyclant et en réutilisant les intrants,
• ODD 13 MESURES RELATIVES A LA LUTTE CONTRE LES CHANGEMENTS CLIMATIQUES – en réduisant son empreinte carbone et en utilisant des panneaux solaires pour produire de l’électricité.

Plusieurs prix et récompenses ont reconnu les impacts positifs d’Exotic EPZ Limited. Sa Directrice Générale, Jane, a remporté prix 2018 du Forum des Femmes Africaines pour l’Innovation et l’Entrepreneuriat (Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum, AWIEF) dans la catégorie entrepreneur agricole. En 2019, l’entreprise a également été finaliste de la catégorie « Prix de la diversité et de l’inclusion pour les meilleures entreprises vertes au Kenya » du Prix & Reconnaissance de la Diversité et de l’Inclusion au Niveau National au Kenya (Kenyan National Diversity and Inclusion Awards & Recognition, DIAR) qui récompense les personnes et les organisations au Kenya qui favorisent la diversité et l’inclusion.

Durant la pandémie de COVID-19, Exotic EPZ Limited a fait preuve de résilience et d’adaptation pour poursuivre ses activités. Au début de la pandémie, l’entreprise a fermé son usine de transformation pour réorganiser ses opérations et espacer davantage les sections de production afin de garantir la distanciation physique. Elle a également amélioré l’aération dans ses locaux et renforcé les exigences sanitaires. Le département kenyan de la sécurité et de la santé a approuvé sa nouvelle organisation, ce qui a permis à Exotic EPZ Limited de réouvrir son usine et de continuer à produire pendant les confinements. En outre, l’entreprise a mené une campagne de marketing très active pour augmenter le nombre de ses clients. Deux nouvelles entreprises, respectivement en Europe et aux États-Unis, ont été ajoutés au carnet d’acheteurs d’Exotic EPZ Limited à la fin de 2020.

Additional Resources

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Recent Business Profiles

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm

La ferme Panuka produit des légumes frais en Zambie en utilisant des techniques agricoles adaptées au changement climatique et en combinant productivité et conservation de la biodiversité....

lire plus
Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa soutient les communautés locales zambiennes et l'environnement via la transformation agroalimentaire et l'agroforesterie en ajoutant de la valeur aux fruits indigènes. Ils ont fait une...

lire plus
Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens est une exploitation agricole familiale spécialisée dans la culture, l'emballage et l'exportation d'herbes et de légumes frais. Ils ont fait une présentation lors de la session...

lire plus
Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions est une entreprise de biotechnologie et d'agrotechnologie qui utilise des déchets organiques tels que des ordures, des pelures de fruits et de l'urine d'animaux mélangés à des...

lire plus
Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics est une entreprise d'aqua-technologie qui s'appuie sur l'intelligence artificielle pour cultiver des crustacés en eau douce et garantir une production tout au long de l'année, ce...

lire plus

Gallery

Video Recording

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Jane Maigua is an award-winning Kenyan entrepreneur and the Managing Director of Exotic EPZ Limited. She has a long career in enterprise development and entrepreneurship, having worked for over 20 years with various international and local NGOs, as well as for the United Nations.

Jane’s parents are smallholder farmers and she grew up witnessing the challenges they have to face. Passionate about agroprocessing and export space, Jane aims to empower women and young people by creating jobs and generating increased income for smallholder farmers and all stakeholders in the macadamia nuts value chain.

Jane holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Appropriate Technology from the Kenyatta University, Kenya, and a Master of Arts in Leadership, Business and Entrepreneurship from the Pan Africa Christian (PAC) University, Kenya.

Jane’s commitment and impact have been rewarded with the 2018 Africa Women Innovation & Entrepreneurship Forum (AWIEF) Award in the Agri Entrepreneur category.

Jane Maigua

CEO, Exotic EPZ Limited

Business Location: Nairobi, Kenya

Type: Limited Liability Company
Year of Founding: 2012
Number of Employees: 163; 85% are women and 75% are youths
Leadership: Operations Director – Charity Ndegwa; External Relations Director – Loise Maina; Managing Director – Jane Maigua

Mission: To sustainably provide the world with quality products for healthy and happy living in order to empower its producers and employees, as well as to promote Kenya’s development and socio-economic potential on a global scale.

Business Model

Macadamia is a round, white nut that grows on tropical trees and has high levels of monounsaturated fatty acids, omega 3 and 6. The species Macadamia integrifolia and Macadamia tetraphylla grow in Kenya.

In 2012, Jane Maigua, Charity Ndegwa and Loise Maina created Nawiri Agribusiness EPZ as a macadamia nuts agroprocessing and export company. Macadamia nuts are abundant in Kenya and in high demand by the food and cosmetic industries. The three friends had extensive experience in entrepreneurship and agribusiness, including with women’s economic empowerment programmes. They wanted to tackle long-term issues faced by Kenyan smallholder farmers, especially the lack of market access and low prices.

In 2016, Nawiri Agribusiness EPZ Ltd acquired Exotic EPZ Limited, another macadamia nuts agroprocessing company, to further support the development of local communities and to create a sustainable and inclusive agribusiness value chain, with a special focus on women and youth.

Exotic EPZ Limited is involved in the entire macadamia nut value chain and works closely with local producers and communities in several Kenyan regions.

Since its creation, Exotic EPZ Limited has become a household name in the macadamia nut sector in Kenya. It is the country’s first female-led macadamia nut processing company.

Strong Relationships with Smallholders

The company has a strong social and economic commitment, and is dedicated to ensuring stable incomes for its suppliers. It buys macadamia nuts from Kenyan producers at a fair price, using a mobile platform to secure its payments.

Exotic EPZ Limited supports its producers by facilitating access to seedlings, and offers them training on various topics including soil maintenance, waste management, and the fight against pests and diseases. The company has also created numerous macadamia nut collection centres to shorten and improve the delivery of raw nuts.

Exotic EPZ Limited works closely with 7,000 farmers in 10 different macadami-growing regions in Kenya. Of these producers, 2,000 supply the company directly. A team of about 10 agents travels to different regions and connects with the additional 5,000 producers to buy their production.

Products and Markets

Exotic EPZ Limited processes macadamia nuts as whole nuts, halves and chips of various sizes:

Wholes
• Style 0: larger than 19 mm, with minimum 95% of whole nuts
• Style 1L: larger than 16 mm, with minimum 90% of whole nuts
• Style 1S: 14–16 mm, with minimum 90% of whole nuts

Halves
• Style 4L: 14–16 mm half nuts
• Style 4S: 9–14 mm, with 80% half nuts and 20% whole nuts

Chips
• Style 5: 7–9 mm pieces
• Style 6: 5–7 mm chips and pieces
• Style 7: 3–5 mm chips

The kernels are vacuum packed in 25 lb (11.34 kg) food grade aluminium foil pouches, then into cartons which preserve the quality of the nuts.

The processed macadamia nuts are mainly exported to the international market: to the USA, the European Union (particularly Spain and the Netherlands), and Asia.

Exotic EPZ Limited purchases and collects raw macadamia nuts, and processes, packages and distributes them.

Exotic EPZ Limited is committed to ensuring high-quality production procedures and products. Its compliance with international high-quality standards is guaranteed by its FSSC 22000 and ISO 9001:2015 certifications. The company is also working to achieve organic and fair trade certification by 2022.

Innovations: Milestones and Expansion Plans

In April 2020, Kenya Climate Venture (KCV), an investment management company, invested in Exotic EPZ Limited to support its expansion strategy.

In the context of the COVID-19 pandemic and the company’s decision to reduce its operational costs and so its product prices, in 2021 Exotic EPZ Limited installed a solar plant with a producing capacity of 47.5 kWh on its processing plant. The company also uses the macadamia nut shells to produce biogas as an additional source of energy. Both sources of renewable energy provide for about 20% of the company’s electricity needs.

The company aims to expand its business by diversifying production and supplying new markets such as Africa, other European countries (e.g. Belgium, Germany), United Arab Emirates, Canada and Japan. The company is planning to produce roasted and flavoured macadamia nuts primarily to be sold on the local market, as well as macadamia nut oils and other type of speciality oils. This product expansion will require an increase in production capacity and the building of a new facility.

Exotic EPZ Limited is planning to increase its producers’ network to 10,000+ farmers, and to support them to expand their orchards to produce more. The company also promotes the planting of more macadamia trees to increase its supply and reduce CO2 levels, and will start by planting 187,500 macadamia trees.

Lastly, Exotic EPZ Limited plans to build a demonstration farm where farmers can follow training sessions on aspects of the macadamia nut production, thus contributing more to capacity building.

Success Factors and Lessons Learned

Exotic EPZ Limited operates on a high safety hygiene basis and produces high-quality products. In order to maintain the level of quality – and to continuously improve it – the company provides macadamia nut farmers with training and sensitisation sessions, ranging from pest control to crop management and postharvest management of produce. It also organises training for its employees in areas such as leadership, food safety and quality management, environmental management, and occupational safety and health. The company also provides a savings and credit scheme for its staff.

As a social company promoting inclusion and responsible production, Exotic EPZ Limited contributes to the achievement of the following Sustainable Development Goals (SGDs):
• SDG 1 NO POVERTY – by providing nut farmers with sustainable access to markets
• SDG 5 GENDER EQUALITY – by including (more) women in the value chain
• SDG 8 DECENT WORK AND ECONOMIC GROWTH – by creating hundreds of decent jobs and ensuring equal pay for work of equal value
• SDG 12 RESPONSIBLE CONSUMPTION AND PRODUCTION – by reducing waste, and by recycling and reusing inputs
• SDG 13 CLIMATE ACTION – by reducing its carbon footprint and using solar plants to produce electricity

The positive impacts of Exotic EPZ Limited have been acknowledged by several awards. Its Managing Director, Jane, won the 2018 Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum (AWIEF) Award in the category Agri Entrepreneur. In 2019, the company was also a finalist in the category “Diversity and Inclusion Award for Top Green Companies in Kenya” of the Kenyan National Diversity and Inclusion Awards & Recognition (DIAR), which recognises individuals and organisations in Kenya that promote diversity and inclusion.

In COVID-19 times, Exotic EPZ Limited has shown resilience and adaptation to pursue its activities. At the outbreak of the pandemic, the company closed its processing facility to rearrange its organisation, and spaced the production sections more to ensure social distancing. It also improved the aeration of the facility and increased sanitation requirements. The Kenyan Department of Safety and Health approved its new organisation, enabling EXOTIC EPZ Limited to reopen and continue producing during lockdowns. The company also led a very active marketing campaign to increase its number of customers. Two new corporate buyers, in Europe and in the USA, were added to the company’s portfolio at the end of 2020.

Additional Resources

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Recent Business Profiles

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm produces fresh vegetables in Zambia using agricultural techniques adapted to cimate change and combines productivity with biodiversity conservation. The company was presented in the...

read more
Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa supports local Zambian communities and the environment through agroprocessing and agroforestery by adding value to indigeneous fruit. They presented at Innovation Session n°14.

read more
Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens is a family run farm, specialising in the growing, packing and export of fresh herbs and vegetables. They presented at Innovation Session n°8.

read more
Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions is a bio-tech and agri-tech company using organic wastes such as garbage, fruit peels and animal urine mixed with botanical extracts to form two-in-one organic pesticides and...

read more
Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics is an aqua-tech company that leverages artificial intelligence to grow crustaceans in freshwater and ensures production all-year round, enabling a consistent supply of premium...

read more

Gallery

Video Recording

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This