Alex Muli est le cofondateur et l’agropreneur principal de Goshen Farm Exporters Ltd (Goshen Farm). Depuis sa création, il a dirigé stratégiquement l’entreprise pour construire de manière résiliente un système alimentaire durable axé sur l’agriculture inclusive, la réduction des pertes alimentaires et la transformation innovante de fruits tropicaux kenyans en snacks de fruits naturels et sains. Il est diplômé de l’école de commerce et d’économie de l’université de Moi, à Eldoret, Kenya, et a un MBA de l’université internationale des États-Unis-Afrique (USIU-Africa) de Nairobi, Kenya. Il est également titulaire d’un certificat d’études supérieures en développement commercial et innovations de la Frankfurt School of Finance en Allemagne. Alex souhaite que l’agriculture africaine soit en mesure de nourrir le monde tout en créant des emplois pour sa jeune population. Il a reçu la médaille d’argent et d’or lors du prix « Duke of Edinburgh President’s Award Scheme Kenya » en 2010. Il est également le lauréat 2019 du Forum des jeunes agripreneurs africains de la Banque africaine de développement.

Alex Mutua Muli

CEO, GOSHEN FARM EXPORTERS LIMITED

Business Location: Nairobi, Kenya

Statut de la société : Société à responsabilité limitée
Année de création : 2010
Nombre d’employés: 85 (y compris les salariés à temps partiel et saisonniers), dont 75 % sont des femmes.
PDG: Alex Mutua Muli

Modèle d’entreprise

Goshen Farm vise à connecter la chaîne de valeur de l’offre et de la demande dans le secteur horticole en Afrique. L’entreprise travaille à la création d’un réseau d’agriculteurs africains fournissant des mangues, des fruits de la passion, des avocats et des haricots verts aux marchés africains et du Moyen-Orient. Goshen Farm vise à créer un marché durable en utilisant l’effet de levier que la technologie peut offrir.

Goshen Farm a été créée par Alex et sa mère, Mary Muli, en 2010 et produit, conditionne et exporte des produits horticoles tropicaux kényans frais et transformés. En 2017, Goshen Farm a augmenté la valeur de son activité en initiant son activité de transformation et produit désormais des fruits et légumes transformés pour l’exportation et la vente locale. En 2013, l’entreprise a commencé à exporter des haricots verts, des mangues, des avocats et des pois mange-tout frais sur les marchés internationaux, et en 2019, elle a diversifié sa gamme de fruits et a commencé à exporter et à transformer des papayes et des bananes, entre autres.

L’entreprise repose sur un modèle commercial global, qui consiste à s’approvisionner en produits auprès de petits exploitants kenyans sous contrat et à les distribuer (frais ou transformés) aux détaillants.

Ce modèle commercial intégré s’attaque aux problèmes rencontrés des deux côtés de la chaîne de valeur. Du côté de la demande, il aide les agriculteurs à surmonter les difficultés qu’ils rencontrent pour se procurer des intrants agricoles abordables, utiliser de meilleures techniques agricoles et accéder aux marchés. Du côté de l’offre, ce modèle commercial permet aux consommateurs d’avoir accès à diverses variétés de fruits et légumes, contribuant ainsi à la lutte contre la malnutrition.

Goshen Farm occupe une position centrale dans la chaîne de valeur et sur le marché, car l’entreprise assure la liaison entre les agriculteurs qui cultivent les produits et les consommateurs de ces produits.

La taille du marché de Goshen Farm varie en fonction de la saison, avec une demande hebdomadaire moyenne de 14 tonnes pendant la saison haute et une demande réduite de 3 tonnes pendant la saison basse.

Des relations solides avec les petits exploitants

Goshen Farm achète des fruits et légumes à plus de 4000 petits exploitants, dont la moitié sont des femmes, dans les zones rurales du sud-est et du centre du Kenya.

Goshen Farm entretient une relation de travail étroite avec ses producteurs. L’entreprise leur guarantit des prix contractuels fixes et les soutient techniquement pour leur permettre de maximiser leur rendement.

L’entreprise assure également la formation de ses fournisseurs aux bonnes pratiques agricoles respectueuses du climat, par exemple en utilisant des bouteilles en plastique PET recyclées comme kits d’irrigation goutte à goutte, tout en diffusant des informations sur l’utilisation du BELSAP, un polymère qui favorise la rétention d’eau. Sur le long terme, Goshen Farm vise à permettre aux petits exploitants agricoles de son réseau d’accéder à des apports financiers en les mettant en relation avec des institutions de financement. Goshen Farm a déjà conclu un partenariat avec KCB’s Mobigrow pour permettre aux agriculteurs d’accéder aux services bancaires formels en ouvrant des comptes avec leurs téléphones.

En travaillant en étroite collaboration avec les petits exploitants locaux, Goshen Farm peut s’assurer que les produits frais qu’il exporte répondent aux normes de qualité de chaque marché spécifique. Cela limite également les risques de pertes post-récolte pour les petits exploitants. De plus, en séchant ou en transformant les fruits, Goshen Farm évite les pertes supplémentaires dues à la qualité inappropriée des fruits frais ou aux restrictions d’importation de la mouche des fruits sur des marchés spécifiques.

Goshen Farm travaille principalement avec les petits exploitants agricoles des comtés de Machakos, Makueni, Kitui et Taita Taveta, dans le sud-est du Kenya, et depuis peu, du comté de Tana River. En travaillant avec les petits exploitants agricoles de ces comtés semi-arides, Goshen Farm souhaite améliorer les moyens de subsistance par la création d’un marché résilient et durable pour les produits cultivés localement. L’usine de l’entreprise est située dans la zone rurale de l’est du Kenya, et est source de création d’emplois locaux, ce qui réduit l’exode rural.

Produits couverts et marchés

Goshen Farm produit des fruits et légumes traditionnels kényan frais et transformés, à savoir :

  • les mangues : variétés Apple, Ngowe, Kent et Tommu
  • les avocats : variétés Fuerte et Hass
  • les fruit de la passion : jaune et violet
  • les haricots verts et pois mange-tout

Goshen Farm propose également une gamme de produits transformés sous la forme de chips de fruits réalisés à partir de mangues, d’ananas et de légumes feuilles africains séchés (niébé, amarante, etc.). Ces snacks sains sont préparés sans additifs ni sucre ajouté.

Goshen Farm exporte directement des produits frais en Europe et au Moyen-Orient, par exemple des haricots verts en France. Les snacks de fruits secs sont vendus aux détaillants locaux pour le marché national en paquets de 50 gr, mais Groshen Farm prévoit également de les exporter vers l’UE et les États-Unis à l’avenir.

La valeur des services fournis par Goshen Farm réside dans sa connexion avec des milliers de producteurs de fruits et légumes, ainsi qu’avec de nombreux magasins de détail, hypermarchés, boutiques en ligne et marchés dans l’UE et au Moyen-Orient. Goshen Farm propose une large gamme de produits pour l’approvisionnement en fruits de saison et des en-cas sains à des prix abordables.

Goshen Farm a également la certification GLOBAL G.A.P.

Innovations : Étapes importantes et plans d’expansion

Goshen Farm a contourné les difficultés liées aux moyens de transport et aux coûts élevés en achetant son propre camion. Cela permet à l’entreprise d’être indépendante de tout prestataire de services de transport.

Depuis 2018, Goshen Farm a bénéficié de plusieurs soutien de la part du COLEACP, notamment dans la conduite de son auto-évaluation, ainsi que lors de formations collectives et individuelles sur la qualité des avocats pour l’exportation, les conséquences de la Covid-19 sur le commerce et les opérations et l’élaboration d’un plan d’affaires. L’entreprise a également travaillé avec le COLEACP sur l’évaluation de l’infrastructure de sa station de conditionnement pour la norme du British Retail Consortium (BRC), et sur la formation de son équipe de gestion de qualité à la norme BRC et la mise en œuvre des principes HACCP.

En 2019, deux ans après le démarrage des activités de transformation, Goshen Farm a investi dans de nouveaux locaux à Makueni avec des installations de chaîne du froid et des équipements de valorisation lui permettant de traiter jusqu’à 10 tonnes de fruits et légumes par jour. Les locaux sont destinés à un usage écologique où tous les déchets seront recyclés en biogaz pour alimenter les chaudières, tandis que le sous-produit, le biofertilisant, sera donné aux agriculteurs pour qu’ils puissent réhabiliter leurs exploitations et moins dépendre des engrais chimiques.

Goshen Farm intègre également la technologie dans son modèle économique afin d’améliorer le développement des chaînes d’approvisionnement. Elle utilise la plateforme numérique DigiFarm pour mettre en relation les vendeurs et les acheteurs de fruits et légumes. DigiFarm est une plateforme mobile intégrée, créée par Safaricom, qui fournit aux petits exploitants agricoles des informations agricoles, des services financiers et un accès à des intrants agricoles abordables et de qualité. Goshen Farm utilise cette plateforme comme système d’information de gestion pour documenter l’approvisionnement en intrants agricoles, la récolte et le transport des produits, etc.

Depuis 2020, Goshen Farm prépare l’expansion de ses marchés d’exportation et cherche de nouvelles opportunités grâce à l’augmentation de son capital. Après cet investissement, l’entreprise prévoit de travailler avec 1000 agriculteurs supplémentaires et d’augmenter les possibilités d’emploi pour les jeunes, à titre permanent ou occasionnel. À la fin de la cinquième année d’expansion, Goshen Farm a également l’intention d’augmenter de 150 % les revenus des agriculteurs sous contrat.

L’obtention de la certification biologique est très coûteuse, tout comme les exportations vers l’Europe (comparées à celles vers d’autres régions d’Afrique ou vers les Etats-Unis) et limitent ainsi développement de l’activité.

Goshen Farm travaille activement au développement de solutions agricoles intelligentes sur le plan climatique, par exemple en utilisant un polymère ciblé sur l’agriculture (cristaux hydroponiques non toxiques belsap) qui retient dix fois plus d’eau que le sol. La quantité de deux cuillères de ce produit à la base de chaque arbre fruitier absorbe l’humidité du sol et des précipitations et la restitue ensuite lentement, réduisant ainsi les coûts d’irrigation. Cette méthode d’absorption de l’eau permet aux agriculteurs d’augmenter leur rendement, par exemple de 65 % car les manguiers produisent de plus gros fruits.

 

Additional Resources

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Recent Business Profiles

BioLife Tech

BioLife Tech

BioLife Tech offre des solutions numériques qui connectent les producteurs d'ananas au Bénin avec les transformateurs locaux, les exportateurs et les commerçants, et permettent un suivi technique....

lire plus
Lovegrass Ltd.

Lovegrass Ltd.

Lovegrass LTD est une entreprise qui fabrique des produits à base de teff. L'entreprise a été présentée pendant laSession Innovation n°16.

lire plus
Inter-Connect Point LTD

Inter-Connect Point LTD

Inter-Connect Point est une entreprise d'agritech qui a créé une solution technologique pour améliorer la production de thé. Ils ont fait une présentation lors de la session d'innovation n°15.

lire plus
Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm

La ferme Panuka produit des légumes frais en Zambie en utilisant des techniques agricoles adaptées au changement climatique et en combinant productivité et conservation de la biodiversité....

lire plus
Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa soutient les communautés locales zambiennes et l'environnement via la transformation agroalimentaire et l'agroforesterie en ajoutant de la valeur aux fruits indigènes. Ils ont fait une...

lire plus

Gallery

Video Recording

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Alex Muli is the Co-founder and Lead Agripreneur at Goshen Farm Exporters Ltd (Goshen Farm). Since its creation, he has strategically led the company to resiliently build a sustainable food system focused on all-inclusive agriculture, food loss mitigation, and innovative processing of Kenyan tropical fruits into natural and healthy fruit snacks. He is a graduate of Moi University School of Business and Economics, Eldoret, Kenya, and holds a MBA degree from United States International University-Africa (USIU-Africa) in Nairobi, Kenya. He also holds a postgraduate certificate in Business Development with Innovations from Frankfurt School of Finance in Germany. Alex envisions a world where African agriculture will be able to feed the world while creating dignified employment for its young population. He is a Silver & Gold standard holder for the Duke of Edinburgh President’s Award Scheme Kenya, 2010. He is the 2019 Africa Development Bank’s Africa Young Agripreneurs Forum Winner. He is also a 2020 Alibaba E-founders Fellowship program fellow organized by the Alibaba Business School and UNCTAD.

Alex Mutua Muli

CEO, GOSHEN FARM EXPORTERS LIMITED

Business Location: Nairobi, Kenya

Type: Limited Liability Company
Year of Founding: 2010
Number of Employees: 85 (including part-time and seasonal), 75% of whom are women
CEO: Alex Mutua Muli

Business model

Goshen Farm’s mission is to grow sustainably into Africa’s leading food processor while meeting the expectations of consumers, producers, staff and investors. It strives to connect the demand and supply value chain within the horticultural sector in Africa. To do so, Goshen Farm works to create a network of African farmers providing mango, passion fruit, avocado and French beans to African and Middle Eastern markets. It aims to achieve a sustainable market by making use of the leverage technology can provide.

Goshen Farm was created by Alex and his mother, Mary Muli, in 2010 and processes, packages and exports fresh and processed Kenyan tropical horticultural produce. In 2017 Goshen Farm added value to its workstream by initiating processing activities, and now produces processed fruit and vegetables for export and local sale. In 2013 the company began to export fresh French beans, mangoes, avocados and snow peas to international markets, and in 2019 it diversified its fruit range and started to export and process papaya and bananas, among others.

The company is based on an all-inclusive business model, sourcing the produce from contracted Kenyan smallholder farmers and distributing it (fresh or processed) to retailers.

This integrated business model tackles issues faced on both sides of the value chain. On the demand side, it helps farmers to overcome the difficulties they face in sourcing affordable farm inputs, using improved agricultural techniques, and accessing markets. On the supply side, this business model provides consumers with access to diverse varieties of fruit and vegetables, contributing to fighting malnutrition.

Goshen Farm has a central position within the value chain and on the market, as it liaises between the farmers who grow the produce, and the consumers of the produce.

The market size of Goshen Farm varies according to the season, with an average weekly demand of over 12-20 tons during the peak season and a reduced demand of 3-8 tons in the off-peak season.

Strong relationship with smallholders

Goshen Farm buys fruit and vegetables from more than 4000 smallholder farmers, 65% of whom are women, in rural south-eastern Kenya.

Goshen Farm has a close working relationship with its producers. It offers them fixed contractual prices, and monitors their production to support them technically and maximise their output yield.

The company also provides training for its suppliers on good and climate-smart agricultural practices, for example using recycled PET plastic bottles as drip irrigation kits while also disseminating information on the use of BELSAP a polymer that aids in water retention. In the long term, Goshen Farm aims to enable the smallholder farmers in its network to access financial inputs by linking them with financing institutions. Goshen Farm has already a partnership with KCB’S Mobigrow to enable farmers to access formal banking through opening of accounts on their phones.

By working closely with local smallholders, Goshen Farm can ensure that the fresh commodities it exports meet the quality standards of each specific market. This also limits the risks of post-harvest losses for the smallholder farmers. And by drying or further processing fruit, Goshen Farm avoids additional losses due to inappropriate quality of fresh fruit, or due to fruit fly import restrictions on specific markets.

Goshen Farm mainly focuses on working with smallholder farmers in Lower Eastern Kenya counties of Machakos, Makueni, Kitui and Taita Taveta. The company recently also made entry into Tana River County. The deliberate decision to work with smallholder farmers in these semi-Arid counties is out of the passion to improve livelihoods through creation of a resilient and sustainable market for locally grown produce. The company factory is located in rural Eastern Kenya where its impact is being felt through creation of local jobs thus reducing rural urban migration.

Products covered and markets

Goshen Farm produces fresh and processed fruit and vegetables that grow in Kenya:

  • mangoes: Apple, Ngowe, Kent and Tommy varieties
  • avocados: Fuerte snd Hass varieties
  • passion fruit: yellow and purple
  • French beans and sugar snap beans.

Goshen also has a range of processed products in the form of fruit crisps made out of dried mangoes, dried pineapples and dried African leafy vegetables (cowpeas, amaranth, etc.). These healthy snacks are prepared without additives or added sugar.

Goshen Farm directly exports fresh produce to Europe and the Middle East, for example French beans to France. The dried fruit snacks are sold to local retailers for the domestic market in 50 g packs, but Goshen Farm also plans to export them to the EU and the USA in the future.

The value of the services provided by Goshen Farm lies in its connection with thousands of fruit and vegetable producers, as well as with numerous retail stores, hypermarkets, online shops, and markets in the EU and the Middle East. Goshen Farm offers a wide range of products for seasonal fruit supply and healthy snacks at affordable prices.

Goshen Farm is also GLOBAL G.A.P certified.

Innovations: Milestones and expansion plans

Goshen Farm circumvented the difficulties related to transport facilities and high costs by buying its own trucks. This enables the company to be independent from any transport service provider and therefore having control on itr supply chain right from the farm to the packhouse.

Since 2018, Goshen Farm has received various types of support from COLEACP in the form of self-assessment support, group and specific training on the quality of export avocadoes, Covid-19 implications for business and operations, business plan development. The company also worked with COLEACP on assessment of its packhouse infrastructure for the British Retail Consortium (BRC) Standard, and training for its quality management team on the BRC Standard and the implementation of HACCP principles.

In 2019, two years after starting up processing activities, Goshen Farm invested in new premises in Makueni, with cold chain facilities and value addition equipment, enabling it to process up to 10 tons of fruit and vegetables per day. The premises will be developed into a green factory where all waste will be recycled into biogas for use in powering the boilers while the byproduct which is biofertilizer will be given to farmers to ensure they rehabilitate their farms and rely less on chemical based fertlilizer.

Goshen Farm also integrates technology into its business model to enhance the development of the supply chains. It uses the digital platform DigiFarm to connect fruit and vegetable sellers and buyers. DigiFarm is an integrated mobile platform, powered by Safaricom, that provides smallholder farmers with agricultural information, financial services, and access to affordable and quality farm inputs. Goshen Farm uses this platform as a management information system to document sourcing of farm inputs, harvesting and transportation of produce, etc.

Since 2020, Goshen Farm has been preparing the expansion of its export markets and is seeking new opportunities to be unlocked by capital. Though this has been delayed due to the aftershocks of the pandemic , the company is still chosing to remain undestructed. After this investment, it plans to work with 1000 more farmers and to increase employment opportunities for young people in both permanent and casual capacities. At the end of the fifth year of expansion, Goshen Farm also intends to increase the contracted farmers’ incomes by 150%.

Obtaining organic certification is very expensive, as well as exporting to Europe (compared to other African regions or to the USA), and thus limit the business development.

Goshen Farm actively works on developing climate-smart farming solutions, for example by using an agriculture-targeted polymer (non-toxic belsap hydroponic crystals) that retains ten times more water than soil. Two spoonfuls at the base of each fruit tree soaks up humidity from the soil and rainfall and later slowly releases moisture, thus reducing irrigation costs. This water absorption method helps the farmers to increase their output, for example by 65% as the mango trees produce larger fruit.

 

Additional Resources

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Recent Business Profiles

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm produces fresh vegetables in Zambia using agricultural techniques adapted to cimate change and combines productivity with biodiversity conservation. The company was presented in the...

read more
Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa supports local Zambian communities and the environment through agroprocessing and agroforestery by adding value to indigeneous fruit. They presented at Innovation Session n°14.

read more
Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens is a family run farm, specialising in the growing, packing and export of fresh herbs and vegetables. They presented at Innovation Session n°8.

read more
Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions is a bio-tech and agri-tech company using organic wastes such as garbage, fruit peels and animal urine mixed with botanical extracts to form two-in-one organic pesticides and...

read more
Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics is an aqua-tech company that leverages artificial intelligence to grow crustaceans in freshwater and ensures production all-year round, enabling a consistent supply of premium...

read more

Gallery

Video Recording

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This