Entrepreneur passionné, AbdulLateef a cofondé NaFarm Foods et deux autres entreprises : CraftPlanet, une entreprise qui recycle les déchets agricoles en granulés ou en paillettes pour les utiliser comme source de carburant alternatif, et Smartlynk ICT, une entreprise de conception et de développement de sites web.

AbdulLateef a étudié la géographie à l’université d’Abuja, au Nigeria, et a été sélectionné pour participé au programme d’entrepreneuriat de la Fondation Tony Elumelu en 2016 afin d’améliorer ses compétences en matière de gestion et d’entrepreneuriat.

AbdulLateef s’engage pour le développement économique de l’Afrique et le bien-être des populations. Il a reçu de nombreux prix, tels que le prix de l’entrepreneuriat africain de la Banque d’Afrique en 2016, le prix AgTech Gender for Agribusiness Investment for Africa (GAIA) en 2017, le prix All Africa Postharvest Technologies & Innovation de l’université de Nairobi, ainsi que le prix Africa Youth Agripreneur de la Banque africaine de développement en 2018.

AbdulLateef Olaosebikan

CEO, Nafarm Foods

Business Location: Kaduna, Nigeria

Type : Enterprise
Date de création : 2015
Nombre d’employés : 23 salariés dans l’usine de transformation et 49 collaborateurs
PDG : AbdulLateef Olaosebikan

Mission : Être une entreprise leader dans la transformation des tomates en Afrique en adoptant les meilleures pratiques mondiales et en développant une activité évolutive, impactante et durable afin d’améliorer les conditions socio-économiques.

Vision: Exploiter le potentiel qu’offre la production locale de concentré de tomates au Nigeria et en Afrique et offrir des produits innovants et un service de qualité aux clients tout, tout en respectant les standards humains et sociaux.

Création

NaFarm Foods a été créée en 2015 pour apporter des solutions au double fardeau que pose la saisonnalité de la production de tomates, à savoir la perte des tomates pendant la saison de récolte et la pénurie et les prix élevés pendant la saison morte.

La périssabilité des tomates et le manque d’infrastructures de stockage au Nigeria, et plus largement en Afrique, entraînent un taux élevé de perte des tomates pendant la période de récolte. On estime que les petits exploitants perdent environ 45 % de leur production de tomates chaque année. Cependant, l’offre de tomates est faible une fois la saison de récolte terminée, ce qui entraîne une augmentation des prix (jusqu’à 13 à 15 fois le prix initial) que les consommateurs locaux ne peuvent pas payer pour acheter ce produit de base (source : FAO et GEMs4 cluster map).

Pour résoudre ces problèmes, NaFarm Foods transforme les tomates en concentré, purée, etc. et les conditionne afin de prolonger leur durée de conservation. L’entreprise transforme et conserve également d’autres légumes, tels que les poivrons et les oignons en les ajoutant aux produits à base de tomates.

Relation avec les petits exploitants

NaFarm Foods s’approvisionne en produits frais, notamment en tomates, auprès d’agriculteurs locaux. L’entreprise a développé une relation très forte avec les coopératives de producteurs de six régions du Nigeria.

L’entreprise travaille également avec environ 420 distributeurs, issus de son réseau de coopératives et de groupes de femmes, pour vendre ses produits aux petits détaillants et aux clients. L’entreprise travaille principalement avec des femmes issues de communautés rurales, regroupées en sept coopératives, représentant près de 28 000 membres.

Produits couverts et marchés

NaFarm Foods transforme les tomates et d’autres légumes (oignons, poivrons, piments, etc.) en produits à valeur ajoutée, hautement nutritionnels, tels que le concentré et la purée de tomate. L’entreprise produit également un mélange de tomates, d’oignons et de poivrons appelé Royal Stew.

Les produits sont disponibles dans différentes tailles (généralement des sachets de 70°g ou de 2°kg) et peuvent être produits sous la marque de n’importe quelle entreprise. Tous les produits sont 100% naturels, sans conservateurs.

Les produits sont transformés dans un environnement conforme aux normes de sécurité et de qualité alimentaires afin de garantir leur qualité supérieure. Ils sont conditionnés dans différents emballages selon les besoins des clients.

En plus de son activité de transformation, Nafarmfoods s’engage à renforcer les capacités de son personnel et de ses partenaires. L’entreprise organise des formations à la production, à la transformation et au conditionnement de tomates à l’intention de ses employés et d’autres entrepreneurs du secteur. Elle aide également ses partenaires et d’autres entreprises de transformation de tomates à pénétrer de nouveaux marchés grâce à une formation en marketing et en vente afin d’améliorer l’emballage et l’image de marque de leurs produits et d’investir dans de nouvelles installations.

La production est certifiée biologique.

NaFarm Foods est la seule entreprise de transformation de tomates avec un modèle d’entreprise sociale au Nigeria. L’entreprise nigériane approvisionne le marché national en vendant ses produits aux détaillants et aux distributeurs du pays ou directement aux consommateurs dans ses locaux ou dans les supermarchés.

Innovations : Étapes importantes et plans d’expansion

Le cofondateur de NaFarm Foods, AbdulLateef, a été sélectionné pour participer, avec 14 autres entrepreneurs agroalimentaires africains, à un programme de formation sur l’agrobusiness en Corée du Sud à l’Institute of Green Bio Science and Technology (GBST), facilité par le programme Enable Youth de la Banque africaine de développement. Cette formation a permis à AbdulLateef de développer ses compétences agricoles, ainsi qu’un modèle d’agrobusiness soutenant à la fois la révolution agricole et le développement économique rural-urbain.

L’un des moteurs de la réussite de NaFarm Foods est d’avoir mis au point une technique de conservation afin de déjouer la périssabilité des tomates fraîches en séchant et en transformant les tomates brutes en poudre. Le produit final à valeur ajoutée est disponible tout au long de l’année à un prix très compétitif et répond à la demande des clients en matière de commodité et de facilité d’utilisation des aliments.

L’entreprise a également développé un important réseau de fournisseurs de tomates fraîches en ayant cartographié 91% des producteurs de tomates au Nigéria entre 2017 et 2019 (en partenariat avec l’ONG Technoserve Nigeria et la Fondation Rockefeller à travers le projet Yieldwise Project Mapped).

Le succès du développement de l’entreprise repose également sur des investissements continus dans son activité et ses installations. NaFarm Foods a par exemple construit sa propre installation de séchage de la biomasse, d’une capacité de stockage d’une tonne, afin d’utiliser toutes les tomates, y compris celles qui sont perdues après avoir été transformées.

NaFarm Foods prévoit d’augmenter sa production en agrandissant son usine de transformation (la capacité de l’infrastructure actuelle ayant été atteinte) et en construisant un centre d’emballage central. L’entreprise établit des partenariats avec des acteurs clés du secteur de la transformation et cherche à pénétrer de nouveaux marchés dans huit pays d’Afrique de l’Ouest d’ici 2024.

Facteurs de succès et enseignements tirés

NaFarm Foods est un modèle d’entreprise basé sur une approche holistique qui associe la préservation des ressources naturelles, la garantie de la sécurité alimentaire, la lutte contre les prix excessifs des produits de base hors saison, la génération de revenus et l’intégration du genre.

Entre 2017 et 2022, plus de 4 800 tonnes de tomates ont été transformées, évitant ainsi qu’elles ne soient perdues. À la suite d’un vaste exercice de cartographie, NaFarm Foods a aidé 91 % des producteurs de tomates du Nigéria à relancer leurs opérations de transformation et leur a fourni une formation pour développer leurs activités. L’entreprise a permis à plus de 800 femmes et jeunes d’acquérir des connaissances et de développer leurs capacités.

NaFarm Foods a également créé 72 emplois directs et 28 000 emplois indirects. L’entreprise travaille avec plus de 420 distributeurs, principalement des femmes, ce qui leur permet d’accéder au marché.

En transformant les tomates, NaFarm Foods a également contribué à augmenter les revenus des agriculteurs, qui ont pu vendre une plus grande partie, voire la totalité, de leur production. Les tomates transformées, dont la durée de conservation est prolongée, permettent également de contourner la fluctuation des prix due à la saisonnalité de la récolte des tomates.

Ressources

https://nafarmfoods.com.ng/
https://www.facebook.com/nafarmfoods/
https://www.howwemadeitinafrica.com/starting-a-tomato-products-business-in-nigeria-entrepreneurs-journey-so-far/136473/
https://www.agenceecofin.com/entreprendre/1401-94390-le-nigerian-abdullateef-olaosebikan-partage-son-experience-dans-la-transformation-de-la-tomate
https://safeem.org/women-entrepreneurship-4-africa/food-and-beverages/
https://miyongafreshgreeens.wordpress.com/2019/02/09/for-the-love-of-tomatoes-in-nigeria/
https://www.tonyelumelufoundation.org/west-africa/abdullateef-olaosebikan-a-tale-of-boldness-and-ingenuity

Additional Resources

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Recent Business Profiles

BioLife Tech

BioLife Tech

BioLife Tech offre des solutions numériques qui connectent les producteurs d'ananas au Bénin avec les transformateurs locaux, les exportateurs et les commerçants, et permettent un suivi technique....

lire plus
Lovegrass Ltd.

Lovegrass Ltd.

Lovegrass LTD est une entreprise qui fabrique des produits à base de teff. L'entreprise a été présentée pendant laSession Innovation n°16.

lire plus
Inter-Connect Point LTD

Inter-Connect Point LTD

Inter-Connect Point est une entreprise d'agritech qui a créé une solution technologique pour améliorer la production de thé. Ils ont fait une présentation lors de la session d'innovation n°15.

lire plus
Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm

La ferme Panuka produit des légumes frais en Zambie en utilisant des techniques agricoles adaptées au changement climatique et en combinant productivité et conservation de la biodiversité....

lire plus
Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa soutient les communautés locales zambiennes et l'environnement via la transformation agroalimentaire et l'agroforesterie en ajoutant de la valeur aux fruits indigènes. Ils ont fait une...

lire plus

Gallery

Video Recording

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

AbdulLateef is a passionate entrepreneur. He co-founded Nafarmfoods and two other companies on his own, namely CraftPlanet, a company recycling agricultural waste into pellets or flakes that are used as an alternative fuel source, and Smartlynk ICT, a web design and development company.

AbdulLateef studied Geography at the University of Abuja, Nigeria, and was selected to follow the Tony Elumelu Foundation entrepreneurship program in 2016 to improve his skills in management and entrepreneurship.

AbdulLateef is committed to the economic development of Africa and the well-being of its people. His engagement has led him to receive numerous awards, such as the Bank of Africa African Entrepreneurship Award in 2016, the Gender for Agribusiness Investment for Africa (GAIA) AgTech Award in 2017, the University of Nairobi All Africa Postharvest Technologies & Innovation Award, as well as the African Development Bank Africa Youth Agripreneur Award in 2018.

AbdulLateef Olaosebikan

CEO, Nafarm Foods

Business Location: Kaduna, Nigeria

Type: Enterprise
Year of Founding: 2015
Number of Employees: 23 in the processing facility and 49 collaborators
CEO: AbdulLateef Olaosebikan

Mission: To be a leading tomato processing company in Africa by adopting global best practices and to develop a scalable impactful and sustainable business to improve socio-economic conditions.

Vision: To tap the potential for local production of tomato paste in Nigeria and Africa and to offer innovative products and high service to the customers while ensuring that human and social standards are met.

Founding

Nafarmfoods has been created in 2015 to contribute resolving interconnected issues linked to the double burden of the tomato production seasonality, namely wastage during the harvest season and scarcity and extreme prices during the off-season.

The perishability of tomato and lack of storing infrastructures in Nigeria, and more broadly Africa, leads to a high rate of tomato waste during the harvesting time, resulting in smallholder farmers losing about 45 % of their tomato production per year. However, tomato supply is scarce once the harvest season is over which leads to increased price up to 13-15 times and local consumer not being able to afford this common commodity (source: FAO and GEMs4 cluster map).

To tackle these issues, Nafarmfoods processes tomatoes into paste, puree etc. and packages them to extend their shelf life. The company also processes and preserves other vegetables such as pepper and onion by adding them to tomato-based products.

Relationship with Smallholders

Nafarmfoods sources raw products, especially tomatoes, from local farmers. It has developed a very strong relationship with producer cooperatives from six regions of Nigeria.

The company also works with about 420 distributors from its network of cooperatives and women’s groups to sell its products to small-scale retailers and to customers. The company works mainly with women from rural communities, grouped into seven cooperatives, representing nearly 28,000 members.

Products and Markets Covered

Nafarmfoods processes tomatoes and other vegetables (onion, peppers, chilies etc.) into highly nutritional value-added products such as tomato paste, puree or concentrate. The company also produces a mix of tomatoes, onions and pepper called Royal Stew.

The products are available in different package sizes (usually 70°g or 2°kg pouches) and can be produced in any company’s brand name. All the products are 100% natural, without preservatives.

The products are processed in an environment complying with food safety and quality standards to ensure their high quality. They are packaged in different containers according to the customers’ requirements.

In addition to its processing activity, Nafarmfoods is committed to provide capacity building to its staff and partners. The company organises training in tomato production, processing and packaging to its employees and other entrepreneurs in the sector. It also supports its partners and other tomato-processing businesses to enter new markets through training in marketing and sales to improve the packaging and branding of their products, and to invest in new facilities.

The production is organic certified.

Nafarmfoods is the only tomato processing company with a social business model in Nigeria. The Nigerian company supplies the national market by selling its products to retailers and distributors in the country or directly to the consumers in its facility or in supermarkets.

Innovations: Milestones and Expansion Plans

Nafarmfoods’ co-founder, AbdulLateef, was selected to take part with 14 other African agripreneurs to a training program on agribusiness in South Korea at the Institute of Green Bio Science and Technology (GBST), facilitated by Enable Youth programme of the African Development Bank. This training enabled AbdulLateef to develop his agricultural skills, as well as an agribusiness model supporting both the agricultural revolution and rural-urban economic development.

One of Nafarmfoods’ drivers of success is to have developed a preservation technique to circumvent the perishability of fresh tomatoes by drying and converting raw tomato into powder. The value-added end-product is available throughout the year at a highly competitive price and meets the customers’ demand for convenience and easy-to-use food.

The company also developed an important network of fresh tomato suppliers by having mapped 91% of the tomato farmers in Nigeria between 2017 and 2019 (in partnership with the NGO Technoserve Nigeria and the Rockefeller Foundation through Yieldwise Project Mapped).

The company’s successful development also lies in continuous investments into its activity and facilities. Nafarmfoods built, for example, its own biomass drying facility with a storage capacity of one ton in order to make use of all the tomato, including its wastage after having been processed.

Nafarmfoods plans to increase its production by extending its processing facility (as the capacity of its current facility has been reached) and by building a central packaging hub. The company also works on building partnerships with key players in the processing sector and to enter new markets across eight West African countries by 2024.

Success Factors and Lesson Learned

Nafarmfoods is a business model based on a holistic approach which combines preserving natural resources, guaranteeing food security, fighting excessive prices of out-of-season commodities, generating income and ensuring gender inclusion.

Between 2017 and 2022, over 4,800 tons of tomatoes have been processed avoiding them from being discarded. Following its extensive mapping exercise, Nafarmfoods supported 91% of the tomato farmers in Nigeria to reviving their processing facilities and provided them training to develop their activities. The company empowered over 800 women and young with enhanced knowledge and capacities.

Moreover, Nafarmfoods has created 72 direct employments and 28,000 indirect jobs. The company also works with over 420 distributors, mainly women, and so enables women to engage with the market.

By processing tomatoes, Nafarmfoods also contributed to increase the farmers’ income as they could sell more, or even all, of their production. Processed tomatoes with an extended shelf life also enable to circumvent the price fluctuation due to the tomato harvest seasonality.

Resources

https://nafarmfoods.com.ng/
https://www.facebook.com/nafarmfoods/
https://www.howwemadeitinafrica.com/starting-a-tomato-products-business-in-nigeria-entrepreneurs-journey-so-far/136473/
https://www.agenceecofin.com/entreprendre/1401-94390-le-nigerian-abdullateef-olaosebikan-partage-son-experience-dans-la-transformation-de-la-tomate
https://safeem.org/women-entrepreneurship-4-africa/food-and-beverages/
https://miyongafreshgreeens.wordpress.com/2019/02/09/for-the-love-of-tomatoes-in-nigeria/
https://www.tonyelumelufoundation.org/west-africa/abdullateef-olaosebikan-a-tale-of-boldness-and-ingenuity

Additional Resources

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Recent Business Profiles

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm produces fresh vegetables in Zambia using agricultural techniques adapted to cimate change and combines productivity with biodiversity conservation. The company was presented in the...

read more
Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa supports local Zambian communities and the environment through agroprocessing and agroforestery by adding value to indigeneous fruit. They presented at Innovation Session n°14.

read more
Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens is a family run farm, specialising in the growing, packing and export of fresh herbs and vegetables. They presented at Innovation Session n°8.

read more
Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions is a bio-tech and agri-tech company using organic wastes such as garbage, fruit peels and animal urine mixed with botanical extracts to form two-in-one organic pesticides and...

read more
Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics is an aqua-tech company that leverages artificial intelligence to grow crustaceans in freshwater and ensures production all-year round, enabling a consistent supply of premium...

read more

Gallery

Video Recording

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This