Gaëtan a 19 ans d’expérience dans la filière biologique et est expert en certification biologique. Il est le Directeur Administratif de l’entreprise familiale malgache Huilerie Melville Groupe Savonnerie Tropicale.SA. Depuis 2020, il est également le Vice-Président national de la Commission Entreprenariat et Jeunes au sein du Groupement du Patronat Malagasy (FIV.MPA.MA). Il a été élu Vice-Président de SYMABIO en 2015, puis Président en 2017 et 2019. Il est membre fondateur du premier centre de formation privé de techniciens animateurs ruraux en alternance de la région Atsinanana en 2009, ainsi que de la première pépinière d’entreprises de Tamatave et du réseau des organisations du Bio de l’Afrique de l’Est (IFOAM Southern Africa Network) en 2020 qui regroupe 11 pays. Il a contribué à l’adoption de la réglementation malgache sur l’agriculture biologique en 2020 et est membre actif de l’initiative Agora des Paysages et des Forêts de Madagascar du Think Tank INDRI (Initiative pour le Développement, la Restauration Ecologique et l’Innovation).

Gaëtan Etancelin

CEO, Symabio

Business Location: Antananarivo, Madagascar

Type d’entreprise : Syndicat
Date de création : 2011
Nombre d’employés : plus de 30 membres exerçant des activités dans la filière bio et une équipe de 9 bénévoles.
PDG : Gaëtan Etancelin

Mission

SYMABIO regroupe tous les professionnels de l’agriculture biologique à Madagascar et a pour mission la défense des intérêts des acteurs de la production, de la cueillette, de la collecte, du négoce, de la transformation, du conditionnement, de la commercialisation et de la certification des produits issus de l’agriculture biologique, ainsi que les intrants destinés à la production biologique. SYMABIO est l’interlocuteur privilégié des pouvoirs publics et des professionnels, accompagne les opérateurs et participe aux négociations nationales sur la réglementation biologique.

SYMABIO poursuit cinq objectifs suivants : 1) Développer les surfaces agricoles certifiées en agriculture biologique; 2) Promouvoir les productions certifiées biologiques de Madagascar ; 3) Défendre les intérêts de l’agriculture biologique; 4) Accroître la visibilité des opérateurs de la filière biologique; 5) Mettre en place une stratégie nationale pour le développement de la filière biologique.

Création

Lors de la dernière décennie, l’agriculture biologique a connu un important essor à Madagascar. L’agriculture biologique représente aujourd’hui presque 1/3 de la production malgache. SYMABIO a été créé en 2011 à l’initiative d’acteurs de la filière biologique afin de se structurer en groupement pour sensibiliser l’opinion publique et les consommateurs sur l’impact économique, social et environnemental de l’agriculture biologique, ainsi que pour devenir l’interlocuteur de cette filière avec les autorités malgaches. SYMABIO a contribué à l’adoption de la loi n°2020-003 sur l’Agriculture Biologique à Madagascar, entrée en vigueur le 09 juillet 2020. Madagascar est le quatrième pays africain à adopter une règlementation sur l’agriculture biologique.

Exemple de Chocolaterie Robert, membre de SYMABIO

Chocolaterie Robert
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Année de création : 1940
Site internet

Histoire :

La Chocolaterie Robert a été fondée en 1940 pour transformer les cacaos de Madagascar et valoriser leurs richesses aromatiques. Elle produit les premiers chocolats de pure origine de Madagascar et a pour vision de devenir un fournisseur mondial de chocolats fins.

La Chocolaterie Robert appartient depuis 1977 au groupe familial Ramanandraibe qui est très engagé dans le secteur agricole et le développement rural de Madagascar. L’entreprise a environ 150 employés et quatre unités de production (respectivement pour la chocolaterie, la confiserie, l’enrobage des barres chocolatées et les pâtisseries).

La Chocolaterie Robert maîtrise toutes les étapes de la chaîne de valeur, de la plantation de cacaotier à l’emballage des produits transformés à base de cacao.

Position sur le marché

La Chocolaterie Robert était le premier producteur de chocolat de Madagascar. L’entreprise contribue aux développements socio-économiques, techniques et intellectuels de Madagascar en travaillant avec des collaborateurs locaux.

La Chocolaterie Robert a neuf points de vente à Madagascar, ainsi qu’une boutique à Paris, France, et un bureau marketing à Londres, Angleterre.

Type de relation avec les petits exploitants

L’entreprise assure une rémunération équitable à ses planteurs et employés, conduit une politique soutenue d’investissement dans la plantation et dans l’usine et finance les études des enfants de ses collaborateurs. La marque « Chocolat Madagascar » est également certifiée équitable et durable par le label « Raise trade – The world’s fairest chocolate ».

Produits et marchés

La Chocolaterie Robert produit des tablettes de chocolat, ainsi que des confiseries (napolitains, fèves entières torréfiées enrobées de chocolat, barres de chocolat), des pâtisseries, et une gamme de produits professionnels (chocolat de couverture par 1 kg, grué, beurre, poudre et fèves de cacao).

Les tablettes de la marque originelle « Robert » se déclinent en différentes saveurs et concentration de chocolat et sont principalement destinées au marché domestique. Les tablettes de la marque « Chocolat Madagascar » sont dédiées à l’export et fabriquées à partir de chocolat de qualité surfine, issu d’une sélection rigoureuse des fèves et d’un conchage plus long. Plusieurs produits de cette gamme ont été primés, notamment le chocolat noir 100% qui a remporté la Cabosse d’Or et la Médaille d’Or, décernés par l’Academy of Chocolate 2017 (Londres). Les tablettes de la gamme « Les Exclusives » sont confectionnées par La Chocolaterie Robert sur la base de recettes élaborées par ses partenaires chocolatiers. 80 % des produits de La Chocolaterie Robert sont vendus dans la Grande île et 20 % exportés.

Certifications

La Chocolaterie Robert certifie la qualité de ses produits avec les standards internationaux biologique (certifié par ECOCERT) et HACCP (certifié par SGS).

Jalons et besoins de mise à l’échelle

Depuis juin 2015 et l’acquisition d’une plantation de cacao à Ambanja, La Chocolaterie Robert est un Chocolatier Planteur ou « Tree-To-Bar ». Cet investissement assure l’intégration verticale de sa filière et assure la pérennité de ses activités. La Chocolaterie Robert continue cependant de s’approvisionner auprès de son réseau de paysans producteurs. Elle a également développé un partenariat à long terme avec les paysans de Brickaville – Anivorano pour assurer la reprise du cacaoculture. Le chocolat noir issu de la première récolte de Brickaville a reçu la médaille d’argent par l’Academy of Chocolate en 2017.

De plus, La Chocolaterie Robert respecte le label Pur Beurre de Cacao et n’utilise que du beurre de cacao de Madagascar dans la fabrication de tous ses chocolats (et non les traitements chimiques habituels).

La Chocolaterie Robert investit continuellement dans l’équipement de l’usine et de ses plantations afin de maintenir une productivité et une qualité optimale.

Exemple de SAHANALA, membre de SYMABIO

Sahanala Madagascar S.A.
Ankadivato, Antananarivo, Madagascar
Année de création : 2010
Site internet

Histoire

Sahanala (qui signifie « champs dans la forêt » en malgache) a été créée en 2010 à la demande des entités d’Antsahabe et des associations locales par Fanamby. Fanamby est une organisation à but non lucratif gérant des aires protégées marines et terrestres à Madagascar fondée en 1997. Elle s’engage à réduire les pressions exercées par les populations locales sur les forêts et zones littorales, tout en leur assurant une source alternative de revenus.

Sahanala a pour objectif d’apprendre aux producteurs à respecter les normes internationales pour leurs productions.

Position sur le marché

Sahanala est un acteur majeur dans le développement rural de Madagascar qui réunit, dans plus de 10 régions plus de 18 000 membres et quatre fédérations : la vanille, les épices et noix, le tourisme et la pêche. La filière de la vanille comprend plus de 4 000 membres producteurs.

Type de relation avec les petits exploitants

Sahanala poursuit une approche inclusive de l’ensemble des acteurs de la chaîne de valeur, notamment afin d’éliminer les intermédiaires et d’améliorer les revenus des agriculteurs.

Produits et marchés

Les produits des filières soutenues par Sahanala sont de très hautes qualités, adaptés aux marchés d’exportations. Tous les produits de la filière vanille, y compris les produits transformés, sont certifiés biologiques (Ecocert, EU, AB, USDA) et casher. Ils sont essentiellement destinés au marché international. Sahanala soutient également des producteurs de mangue (variété Heiss), de maïs, de riz parfumé Madame Rose et de riz rose, le riz étant principalemet destiné au marché domestique. Sahanala produit également des épices et noix, notamment du gingembre, du poivre noir, du poivre sauvage et de la noix de cajou certifiés biologique (Ecocert, EU, AB) entre autres.

Principaux services

Sahanala est un pionnier dans la traçabilité digitale par une approche block chain afin de mettre en place un système garantissant des chaînes de valeur transparentes. Ce système permet de tracer tous les aspects des chaînes de valeur, y compris l’élimination des intermédiaires, la responsabilité environnementale et l’agriculture biologique, l’amélioration des revenus des agriculteurs, la qualité des produits, la sensibilisation des agriculteurs à leur impact environnemental et à l’entretien des sols. Sahanala a obtenu le prix d’excellence « Supply Chain Excellence » par edie sustainability leaders awards en 2021

Certifications

La plupart des produits des filières soutenues par Sahanala sont certifiés Fair Trade et biologiques (Ecocert, EU, AB et/ou USDA). Certains produits ont également la certification casher.

Etapes importantes

En 2019, l’entreprise américaine Archers Daniel Midland (ADM) a rejoint Sahanala, qui est devenue l’une des plus grandes entreprises sociales de Madagascar. Cette nouvelle coopération, appelée SAVAN, permet à ADM de s’approvisionner en vanille de manière durable et à conduit à l’inauguration d’une nouvelle usine à Antsohihy le 13 juin 2020, qui emploie 130 salariés.

Les impacts positifs des chaînes de valeurs mises en place avec le soutien de Sahanala qui engagent toutes les parties prenantes (des producteurs de la matière première aux consommateurs du produit final) s’intensifient avec l’augmentation des membres de Sahanala, notamment des producteurs, et des conversions à l’agriculture biologique.

Additional Resources

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Recent Business Profiles

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm

La ferme Panuka produit des légumes frais en Zambie en utilisant des techniques agricoles adaptées au changement climatique et en combinant productivité et conservation de la biodiversité....

lire plus
Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa soutient les communautés locales zambiennes et l'environnement via la transformation agroalimentaire et l'agroforesterie en ajoutant de la valeur aux fruits indigènes. Ils ont fait une...

lire plus
Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens est une exploitation agricole familiale spécialisée dans la culture, l'emballage et l'exportation d'herbes et de légumes frais. Ils ont fait une présentation lors de la session...

lire plus
Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions est une entreprise de biotechnologie et d'agrotechnologie qui utilise des déchets organiques tels que des ordures, des pelures de fruits et de l'urine d'animaux mélangés à des...

lire plus
Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics est une entreprise d'aqua-technologie qui s'appuie sur l'intelligence artificielle pour cultiver des crustacés en eau douce et garantir une production tout au long de l'année, ce...

lire plus

Gallery

Video Recording

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Gaëtan has 19 years of experience in the organic sector and is an expert in organic certification. He is the Administrative Director of the Malagasy family business Huilerie Melville Groupe Savonnerie Tropicale.SA. Since 2020, he is also  the National Vice-President of the Entrepreneurship and Youth Commission within the Groupement du Patronat Malagasy (Group of Malagasy Employers), (FIV.MPA.MA). He was elected Vice-President of SYMABIO in 2015, then President in 2017 and 2019. He is a founding member of the first private training center for rural animator technicians in the  Atsinanana region in 2009, as well as the first business incubator in Tamatave and the IFOAM Southern Africa Network in 2020.  which includes 11 countries. He contributed to the adoption of the Malagasy regulations on organic farming in 2020 and is an active member of the Agora initiative of Landscapes and Forests of Madagascar of the Think Tank INDRI (Initiative for Development, Ecological Restoration and Innovation).

Gaëtan Etancelin

CEO, Symabio

Business Location: Antananarivo, Madagascar

Type: Union
Year of Foundation: 2011
Number of Employees: More than 30 active members in the organic sector and 9 volunteers
CEO: Gaëtan Etancelin

Mission

SYMABIO brings together all professionals in organic agriculture in Madagascar and its mission is to defend the interests of those involved in the production, collection, trading, processing, packaging, marketing and certification of organic agricultural products, as well as inputs for organic production. SYMABIO is the privileged interlocutor of public authorities and professionals, accompanying operators and participants in national negotiations on organic regulations.

SYMABIO has the following five objectives:
1) Develop agricultural areas certified in organic farming;
2) Promote certified organic production in Madagascar;
3) Defend the interests of organic farming;
4) Increase the visibility of operators in the organic sector;
5) Establish a national strategy for the development of the organic sector.

Founding

Over the last decade, organic farming has experienced a significant boom in Madagascar, now representing almost 1/3 of Malagasy production. SYMABIO was created in 2011 from the initiative of actors in the organic sector to structure themselves into a group to raise public opinion and consumers about the economic, social and environmental impacts of organic farming, as well as to become the interlocutor of this sector with the Malagasy authorities. SYMABIO contributed to the adoption of Law No. 2020-003 on Organic Agriculture in Madagascar, which entered into force on July 9, 2020. Madagascar is the fourth African country to adopt regulations on organic farming.

Example of Chocolaterie Robert: Member of Symabio

Company Name: Chocolaterie Robert
Location: Antananarivo, Madagascar
Year of Founding: 1940
Website

History:

La Chocolaterie Robert was founded in 1940 to process cocoa from Madagascar and enhance its aromatic wealth. It produces the first chocolates of pure origin from Madagascar and has the vision to become a global supplier of fine chocolates.

Since 1977, La Chocolaterie Robert belongs to the family group Ramanandraibe which is very committed to the agricultural sector and rural development of Madagascar.
The company has about 150 employees and four production units (respectively for chocolate, confectionery, chocolate bar coating and pastries).

La Chocolaterie Robert masters all stages of the value chain, from cocoa plantation to the packaging of processed cocoa products.

Market Position

The Chocolaterie Robert was the first chocolate producer in Madagascar. The company contributes to the socio-economic, technical and intellectual developments of Madagascar by working with local collaborators.

Chocolaterie Robert has nine points of sale in Madagascar, as well as a boutique in Paris, France, and a marketing office in London, England.

Type of Relationship with Smallholders

The company ensures fair remuneration for its planters and employees, conducts a sustained policy of investment in the plantation and in the factory and finances the education of the children of its employees. The brand “Chocolat Madagascar” is also certified fair trade and sustainable by the label “Raise trade – The world’s fairest chocolate”.

Products and Markets

Chocolaterie Robert produces chocolate bars, as well as confectionery (Neapolitans, whole roasted beans coated in chocolate, chocolate bars), pastries, and a range of professional products (couverture chocolate per 1 kg, crane, butter, powder and cocoa beans).

The tablets of the original brand “Robert” come in different flavors and concentrations of chocolate and are mainly intended for the domestic market. The tablets of the brand “Chocolat Madagascar” are dedicated to export and made from chocolate of fine quality, resulting from a rigorous selection of beans and a longer conching. Several products in this range have been awarded, including the 100% dark chocolate which won the Cabosse d’Or and the Gold Medal, awarded by the Academy of Chocolate 2017 (London). The tablettes of the “Les Exclusives” range are made by La Chocolaterie Robert on the basis of recipes developed by its chocolate partners. 80% of La Chocolaterie Robert’s products are sold in Madagascar and 20% are exported.

Certifications

La Chocolaterie Robert certifies the quality of its products with international organic (certified by ECOCERT) and HACCP (certified by SGS) standards.

Milestones and Scaling Needs

Since June 2015 and the acquisition of a cocoa plantation in Ambanja, La Chocolaterie Robert is a planter Chocolatier or “Tree-To-Bar”. This investment ensures the vertical integration of its sector and ensures the sustainability of its activities. However, Chocolaterie Robert continues to source from its network of smallholder producers. It has also developed a long-term partnership with the farmers of Brickaville – Anivorano to ensure the continuation of cocoa farming. Dark chocolate from Brickaville’s first harvest was awarded the silver medal by the Academy of Chocolate in 2017.

In addition, La Chocolaterie Robert respects the Pure Cocoa Butter label and uses only Madagascar cocoa butter in the manufacture of all its chocolates (avoiding the usual chemical treatments).

La Chocolaterie Robert continuously invests in the equipment of the plant and its plantations to maintain optimal productivity and quality.

Example of Sahanala: Member of Symabio

Company Name: Sahanala Madagascar S.A.
Location: Ankadivato, Antananarivo, Madagascar
Year of Founding: 2010
Website

History

Sahanala (which means “fields in the forest” in Malagasy) was created in 2010 at the request of Antsahabe entities and local associations by Fanamby. Fanamby is a non-profit organization managing marine and terrestrial protected areas in Madagascar founded in 1997. It is committed to reducing the pressure exerted by local populations on forests and coastal areas, while providing them with an alternative source of income.

Sahanala aims to teach producers how to respect international standards for their productions.

Market Position

Sahanala is a major player in the rural development of Madagascar which brings together, in more than 10 regions more than 18 0000 members and four federations: vanilla, spices and nuts, tourism and fishing. The vanilla sector includes more than 4,000 producer members.

Type of Relationship with Smallholders

Sahanala pursues an inclusive approach of all actors in the value chain to eliminate intermediaries and improve farmers’ incomes.

Products and Markets

The products of the sectors supported by Sahanala are of very high quality, adapted to export markets. All products in the wine sector, including processed products, are certified organic (Ecocert, EU, AB, USDA) and kosher. They are mainly intended for the international market. Sahanala also supports producers of mangue (Heiss variety), maize, and Madame Rose fragrant rice and pink rice, with the rice being mainly destined for the domestic market. Sahanala also produces spices and nuts, including ginger, black pepper, wild pepper and certfied organic cashew nuts (Ecocert, EU, AB) among others.

Main Services

Sahanala is a pioneer in digital traceability through a block chain approach to set up a system guaranteeing transparent value chains. This system makes it possible to trace all aspects of value chains, including the elimination of intermediaries, environmental responsibility and organic farming, improving farmers’ incomes, product quality, raising farmers’ awareness of their environmental impact and land maintenance. Sahanala was awarded the Supply Chain Excellence Award by edie sustainability leaders awards in 2021.

Certifications

Most of the products in the sectors supported by Sahanala are Fair Trade certified and organic (Ecocert, EU, AB and/or USDA). Some products also have kosher certification.

Milestones

In 2019, the American company Archers Daniel Midland (ADM) joined Sahanala, which has become one of the largest social enterprises in Madagascar. This new cooperation, called SAVAN, allows ADM to source vanilla in a sustainable way and led to the inauguration of a new factory in Antsohihy on June 13, 2020, which employs 130 employees.

The positive impacts of value chains set up with Sahanala support that engage all stakeholders (from producers of the raw material to consumers of the final product) are intensifying with the increase of Sahanala members, including producers, and the conversions to organic farming.

Additional Resources

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Recent Business Profiles

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm produces fresh vegetables in Zambia using agricultural techniques adapted to cimate change and combines productivity with biodiversity conservation. The company was presented in the...

read more
Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa supports local Zambian communities and the environment through agroprocessing and agroforestery by adding value to indigeneous fruit. They presented at Innovation Session n°14.

read more
Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens is a family run farm, specialising in the growing, packing and export of fresh herbs and vegetables. They presented at Innovation Session n°8.

read more
Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions is a bio-tech and agri-tech company using organic wastes such as garbage, fruit peels and animal urine mixed with botanical extracts to form two-in-one organic pesticides and...

read more
Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics is an aqua-tech company that leverages artificial intelligence to grow crustaceans in freshwater and ensures production all-year round, enabling a consistent supply of premium...

read more

Gallery

Video Recording

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This