Mmakwena Moesi, Cofondatrice et Directrice des opérations

Mmakwena, biologiste de profession, coordonne la stratégie commerciale globale et le développement de Viva Organica. Âgée de 31 ans, elle est titulaire d’une licence en sciences biologiques de l’université du Botswana et a une expérience professionnelle dans le domaine de la recherche et de la gestion de projets.

Mmakwena s’intéresse principalement à la recherche et à l’application de la microbiologie des sols à une agriculture respectueuse de l’environnement et résistante au climat, ainsi qu’à des pratiques d’autosuffisance. Elle a participé à des formations de gestion d’entreprise dans le cadre de divers concours, programmes d’accélération et de formation tels que FemBioBiz, Startup Smart et le programme “go to market” de Stanford ces des deux dernières année. Elle a récemment remporté un prix pour son entreprise lors du Youth Adapt Challenge 2022, dont la somme de 100 000 dollars pour développer son entreprise.

Amogelang Masi, Cofondateur et Directeur commercial

Ingénieur informaticien devenu agriculteur, Amo explore les moyens de créer des modèles de consommation circulaires qui permettent aux populations locales de contribuer davantage à leurs économies. Il a cofondé Viva Organica, son rêve étant de démocratiser les ressources naturelles de l’Afrique.

Amo est titulaire d’un diplôme en ingénierie des systèmes informatiques et d’une licence en ingénierie informatique de l’université de Sunderland, au Royaume-Uni. Il a également obtenu un diplôme (Associate’s Degree) en marketing à l’université du Cap, en Afrique du Sud, et a étudié les compétences entrepreneuriales à l’école de commerce de l’université de Stellenbosch, en Afrique du Sud.

Mmakwena Moesi

CEO, Viva Organica

Business Location: Gaborone, Botswana

Type: Start-Up
Année de création : 2019
Nombre d’employés : 5
Co-fondateurs : Mmakwena Moesi et Amogelang Masi

Modèle d’entreprise

Viva Organica produit des intrants agricoles (biofertilisants) afin de promouvoir l’utilisation d’intrants et de techniques agricoles naturels qui ne nuisent pas à l’environnement, en plus d’aider les agriculteurs et les communautés agricoles à cultiver durablement des aliments riches en nutriments.

La méthode linéaire pour cultiver les aliments, qui est la plus répandue, n’est pas durable, tant pour l’environnement que pour la situation économique de tous les acteurs impliqués dans la chaîne de valeur alimentaire, du producteur jusqu’au consommateur final. De plus, les déchets produits par les industries d’élevage et horticoles, ainsi que par les détaillants de fruits et légumes frais et les restaurants sont jetés dans des décharges. En tant qu’exportateur net de viande bovine, le Botswana abat près de 220 000 vaches par an, alors qu’une vache produit environ 3 tonnes de biomasse solide par an.

Viva Organica exploite les possibilités offertes par cette immense quantité de biodéchets en les intégrant dans un modèle commercial d’économie circulaire. L’entreprise transforme les déchets de cuisine et le fumier animal en intrants agricoles naturels hautement nutritifs et organiques, riches en nutriments et en probiotiques. Viva Organica est une entreprise sociale qui cherche à soutenir les agriculteurs en Afrique en s’attaquant spécifiquement aux coûts élevés des engrais et à l’accès difficile aux engrais organiques.

Viva Organica est un pionnier de la valorisation des biodéchets générés par l’élevage et l’agriculture et de la création d’une économie circulaire pour les intrants agricoles au Botswana.

Relation avec les petits exploitants

Viva Organica s’approvisionne en bouse de vache auprès de grands parcs commerciaux d’engraissement d’animaux. Actuellement, ces parcs d’engraissement n’ont pas de solution de gestion des déchets et déversent les excréments des animaux, qui sont considérés comme des déchets, sur d’énormes tas qui ne cessent de croître. Les entreprises de transformation alimentaire et les restaurants produisent également de grandes quantités de déchets organiques tels que les pelures et les épluchures de fruits. Viva Organica a conclu des accords avec ces entreprises pour racheter leurs déchets et fabriquer des intrants agricoles biologiques afin d’aider les agriculteurs locaux à augmenter leurs rendements et leur volume de production de manière durable. Jusqu’à présent, l’entreprise a réduit le coût des engrais de 25 %, améliorant ainsi l’accès aux intrants biologiques.

Produits et marchés

Viva Organica manufacture deux produits phares qui sont enrichis de cultures microbiennes pour améliorer la fertilité des sols, la santé des plantes et les rendements.

  • Vermogro : un engrais granulaire organique 100 % naturel, sain, inodore et respectueux de l’environnement qui peut être utilisé pour toutes les cultures. Il est fabriqué localement à l’aide d’un procédé biotechnologique qui consiste à traiter le fumier animal pour produire un puissant lombricompost enrichi de microbes bénéfiques pour le sol, d’acides humiques et d’hormones de croissance pour les plantes.

BioBrew : un biostimulant liquide et un engrais organique composé d’un thé de compost enrichi avec des turricules de vers de première qualité, des extraits de plantes et des microbes bénéfiques qui conviennent à toutes les cultures.

Viva Organica approvisionne le marché local, notamment via des livraisons à domicile à Gaborone et dans les environs. Ses consommateurs sont des petits cultivateurs privés, ainsi que des grandes exploitations sur plusieurs hectares de terre.

L’entreprise fournit au secteur agricole des intrants pour l’agriculture biologique et a suivi une formation en agrochimie commerciale.

Innovations : Étapes importantes et plans d’expansion

Depuis sa création, le développement de l’entreprise vise à fabriquer des produits adaptés au marché. L’ensemble de son activité repose sur la transformation des déchets de seulement huit vaches. Les produits sont fabriqués à l’aide d’un processus biotechnologique appelé lombricompostage, une version améliorée et rapide du compostage à l’aide de vers de terre (eisenia fetida) dont les turricules constituent un excellent conditionneur de sol. Ce modèle en circuit fermé fonctionne comme une entreprise viable qui contribue à la réduction des émissions et des déchets mis en décharge.

Viva Organica vise à réduire le coût des engrais de 50 % d’ici 2024 afin d’améliorer l’accès aux intrants biologiques. Avec le soutien de ses partenaires, l’entreprise cherche également à étendre ses activités pour accroître ses capacités et zones d’activités.

Facteurs de réussite et enseignements tirés

Viva Organica est une entreprise innovante qui considère les déchets comme une opportunité majeure de générer de la valeur pour le secteur agricole et d’accroître sa résilience face au changement climatique, ainsi que comme un moyen pour sortir de la pauvreté. L’approche circulaire de Viva Organica permet de fournir des intrants abordables et riches en nutriments aux agriculteurs locaux qui, à leur tour, peuvent approvisionner la communauté avec (davantage) de produits biologiques. Cette entreprise soutient les agriculteurs, renforce la sécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle et l’action climatique en proposant des produits accessibles et abordables qui améliorent l’humidité et la santé générale des sols, ce qui renforce la résilience climatique et favorise la croissance durable d’aliments riches en nutriments.

L’entreprise collabore avec plusieurs parties prenantes qui soutiennent son développement, notamment AfriLabs, le Groupe de la Banque africaine de développement (BAD), le Botswana Digital and Innovation Hub (BIH) et l’Université internationale des sciences et de la technologie du Botswana (Botswana International University of Science and Technology, BIUST).

Lors de la COP27 en 2022, la contribution de Viva Organica à l’adaptation au changement climatique et au renforcement de la résilience en Afrique a été reconnue par l’obtention du prix du concours African Youth Adaptation Solutions Challenge (YouthADAPT). Ce prix récompense la contribution de cette entreprise, dirigée par des jeunes, à l’amélioration de l’humidité et de la santé générale des sols grâce à ses produits. Cette distinction s’accompagne d’un prix monétaire et d’un programme d’accélération de 12 mois qui soutiendra la croissance de Viva Organica afin d’augmenter son impact et la création d’emplois décents.

Additional Resources

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Recent Business Profiles

BioLife Tech

BioLife Tech

BioLife Tech offre des solutions numériques qui connectent les producteurs d'ananas au Bénin avec les transformateurs locaux, les exportateurs et les commerçants, et permettent un suivi technique....

lire plus
Lovegrass Ltd.

Lovegrass Ltd.

Lovegrass LTD est une entreprise qui fabrique des produits à base de teff. L'entreprise a été présentée pendant laSession Innovation n°16.

lire plus
Inter-Connect Point LTD

Inter-Connect Point LTD

Inter-Connect Point est une entreprise d'agritech qui a créé une solution technologique pour améliorer la production de thé. Ils ont fait une présentation lors de la session d'innovation n°15.

lire plus
Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm

La ferme Panuka produit des légumes frais en Zambie en utilisant des techniques agricoles adaptées au changement climatique et en combinant productivité et conservation de la biodiversité....

lire plus
Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa soutient les communautés locales zambiennes et l'environnement via la transformation agroalimentaire et l'agroforesterie en ajoutant de la valeur aux fruits indigènes. Ils ont fait une...

lire plus

Gallery

Video Recording

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Mmakwena Moesi: Co-Founder and Operations Manager

Mmakwena, a biologist by profession, coordinates the overall business strategy and development of Viva Organica. She is 31 years old and holds a Bachelor’s degree in Biological Sciences from the University of Botswana with post work experience in research and project management.

Her main focus of interest is research and applying soil microbiology in ecologically conscious agriculture, climate resilient farming and self-sufficiency practices. For the past two years she has undergone business management with various competitions, acceleration and training programmes such as FemBioBiz, Startup Smart, and the Stanford go to market program. A recent big win she scored for the business is when she pitched to the Youth Adapt challenge 2022 jury and scooped a grant fund award of $100 000 to scale the business.

Amogelang Masi: Co-Founder and Marketing Lead

Amo is a computer engineer turned farmer who is dedicated to exploring ways to create circular patterns of consumption that provide local people more opportunities of participating in their respective economies. Hhe co-founded Viva Organica, his dream being to democratise Africa’s natural resources.

Amo has a degree in Computer Systems Engineering and a Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering from the University of Sunderland, United Kingdom. He also obtained an Associate’s Degree in Marketing from the University of Cape Town, South Africa, and he studied Entrepreneurship Skills at the University of Stellenbosch Business School Executive Development, South Africa.

Mmakwena Moesi

CEO, Viva Organica

Business Location: Gaborone, Botswana

Type: Start-Up
Year of Founding: 2019
Number of Employees: 5
Co-Founders: Mmakwena Moesi and Amogelang Masi

Business Model

A company manufacturing agricultural inputs (biofertilisers), Viva Organica aims to promote the use of natural farming inputs and techniques that do not harm the environment and to support farmers and farming communities in growing nutrient-rich food sustainably.

The common linear way of growing food is not sustainable for both the environment and the economic status of all the actors involved in the food value chain, from the food grower to the end consumer. Additionally, the waste produced by the livestock and horticulture industries, as well as by fresh fruit and vegetable retailers and restaurants is discarded in landfills. As a net exporter of beef, Botswana slaughters nearly 220,000 cows per year while a cow produces about 3 tonnes of solid biomass per year.

Viva Organica taps into the opportunity that this immense amount of biowaste offers by including it into a circular economy business model. The company transforms kitchen waste and animal manure into highly nutritious, organic natural farming inputs rich in nutrients and probiotics. A social company, Viva Organica seeks to support farmers in Africa by specifically addressing the high costs of fertilisers and low accessibility to organic fertilisers.

Viva Organica pioneers the recovery of biowaste generated by livestock and agriculture and the creation of a circular economy for agriculture inputs in Botswana.

Relationships with Smallholders

Viva Organica sources waste from large commercial animal feedlots that generate cow dung as a waste product. Currently these feedlots do not have a waste management solution and tip their waste in enormous piles that grow perpetually. Additionally, food processing companies and restaurants produce copious amounts of organic waste such as fruit rinds and peels. Viva Organica has arrangements with these enterprises to redeem their waste and manufacture organic farming inputs to support local farmers in increasing their yields production volume sustainably. The company has so far reduced the cost of fertiliser by 25% thus improving access to organic inputs.

Products and Markets

Viva Organica manufactures two flagship products that are enhanced with microbial cultures to improve soil fertility, plant health and yields.

  • Vermogro: A 100% natural, safe, odorless, and eco-friendly organic granular fertiliser for use in all crops. It is locally manufactured using a biotech process that involves processing animal manures to produce a potent vermicompost enriched with beneficial soil microbes, humic acids and plant growth hormones.

BioBrew: A liquid biostimulant and organic fertiliser made from enriched compost tea brewed with premium worm castings, plant extracts and beneficial microbes suitable for use in all crops.

Viva Organica supplies the local market, including through home deliveries in Gaborone and surrounding areas. The consumer base ranges from small home-growers up to large operations in hectares of land.

The company is serving the agricultural sector with organic farming inputs and has acquired commercial agrochemical training.

Innovations: Milestones and Expansion Plans

Since its creation, the company has expanded to make products fit for the market, with the whole business supported by transforming the waste of just eight cows. The products are produced using a biotechnological process called vermicomposting, an improved and rapid version of composting aided by earthworms (eisenia fetida) whose worm castings perform as an excellent soil conditioner. This closed loop model is operating as a viable business that contributes to less emissions and the reduction of landfill waste.

Viva Organica aims to reduce the cost of fertiliser by of 50% by 2024 to further improve access to organic inputs. With the support of its partners, the company is also seeking to expand its business to reach more capacities and territories.

Success Factors and Lessons Learned

Viva Organica is an innovative company that is capturing the issue of waste as a massive opportunity to generate value for the agriculture sector and increase its resilience to climate change, as well as a tool to step out of poverty. Viva Organica’s circular approach enables to supply local farmers with affordable nutrient-rich inputs who, in turn, are able to supply the community with (more) organically grown produce. This business supports farmers, strengthens food and nutritional security and boosts climate action by offering accessible and affordable products that improve soil moisture and overall soil health, which enhances climate resilience and promotes the sustainable growth of nutrient-rich food.

The company engages with several stakeholders who support its development, including AfriLabs, the African Development Bank Group (AfDB), the Botswana Digital and Innovation Hub (BIH) and the Botswana International University of Science and Technology (BIUST).

During COP27 in 2022, Viva Organica was aptly recognised for its support to climate change adaptation and resilience building in Africa as one of the winners of the African Youth Adaptation Solutions Challenge (YouthADAPT) competition. This award recognises the contributions of the youth-led enterprise to improving soil moisture and overall soil health through their products. In addition to the grant awarded to the winners, Viva Organica will also benefit from a 12-month accelerator programme that will support the growth of the business, increasing its impact and the creation of decent jobs.

Additional Resources

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
business-profile
innovation-session
topic
impact-stories
news
Filter by Categories

Business Categories:

Smart Farming Women & Youth

Networking

Join our Agrinnovators community forum to discuss and explore how to encourage innovations across agricultural value chains to transform food systems in Africa, promote sustainable agriculture, and leverage investment. Share insights, ask questions, and collaborate on innovative solutions for a greener future

Recent Business Profiles

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm

Panuka Farm produces fresh vegetables in Zambia using agricultural techniques adapted to cimate change and combines productivity with biodiversity conservation. The company was presented in the...

read more
Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa Zambia Limited

Forest Africa supports local Zambian communities and the environment through agroprocessing and agroforestery by adding value to indigeneous fruit. They presented at Innovation Session n°14.

read more
Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens

Lusoi Greens is a family run farm, specialising in the growing, packing and export of fresh herbs and vegetables. They presented at Innovation Session n°8.

read more
Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions

Ngwala Inventions is a bio-tech and agri-tech company using organic wastes such as garbage, fruit peels and animal urine mixed with botanical extracts to form two-in-one organic pesticides and...

read more
Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics

Kisumeo Organics is an aqua-tech company that leverages artificial intelligence to grow crustaceans in freshwater and ensures production all-year round, enabling a consistent supply of premium...

read more

Gallery

Video Recording

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This